Another WINXP setup freeze...!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

helpmewithxp

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 3, 2007
Messages
6
Well it started with winxp freezing during bootup, when it displays the windows logo with the blue bar shooting back and forth....then it would just freeze and quit moving.

So i didnt want to deal with it, wanted to start over anyway, so i threw in the emachines winxp restore cd 1.0. Formatted the hard drive fine, rebooted, started the winxp setup. Chose my timeszones, agreed to some disclaimer...

then i get to the next screen where it asks "What's your computer's name?". Hit next again, then it freezes again! It freeze right on the "What's your computer's name?" screen. The buttons go white (can select anything), then it acts like its about to take you to the next setup screen, but stays at the "What's your computer's name?" screen.

Figured it for a bad hard driver. Went and got a new one, ran the same cds, and the same exact thing happens, freezes at "What's your computer's name?".

Thanks for reading my essay, and any help is much appreciated!
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2007
Messages
4,910
There is a good chance that this is a RAM related problem. Is it possible for you to swap the memory out
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2007
Messages
4,910
1. Is power supply adequate for that motherboard and processor?

2.can be a possible heat problem, such as the processor overheating?

3. Is the memory correct for that motherboard and CPU, and is it correctly installed. Try Swapping it out
 

helpmewithxp

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 3, 2007
Messages
6
i dont have any ram to swap out, but before it crashed/starting freezing, i ran memtest for a little over a hour and it found no errors, but i guess it still could be bad. Its had the same power supply since i bought it, no cpu/mb upgrades so it should be fine. i guess it could be a heat issue, but it always freezes in the same place, its not like its gets hot and random times and freezes, it always freezes in the same spot.

honestly though i have no clue, thats why im here, so im all ears and desperate to try anything!

thanks!
 

helpmewithxp

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 3, 2007
Messages
6
friends comp, but ill give it a try.

amd xp 3200+ (not 64)
1gb of pc2700 ram (two 512's)
nvidia 6200 agp card
new 20gb 5400rpm drive..
not sure about the mb,
but the model of the comp is emachines t3265
 

helpmewithxp

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 3, 2007
Messages
6
unfortunately my onboard video on that comp went out about a year ago, but using a card ever since...
 

helpmewithxp

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 3, 2007
Messages
6
i have a windows xp cd for a different comp, but i dont wanna use its key on this comp. is there a way i could get the key from the restore disk?
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2007
Messages
4,910
You could boot from a windows 98 boot disk and at the DOS prompt, copy the I386 folder to your hard drive
This way your computer can do the entire install from the hard drive

after you "start computer with cd rom support" type the following:

C: <enter>

MD I386 <enter>

CD I386 <enter>

COPY E:\I386 <enter> (Should take time about a hour)

then type winnt

{Assuming E is your cd drive and C as your hard drive}
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2007
Messages
2
I am experiencing the same problem right now with an AMD model Emachine. I had this same problem a few weeks ago with a computer I was repairing for a customer. I tried all different hardware and determined that it was the CPU that was the problem. This model of Emachine had an Intel Celeron CPU, so I had one to swap it with and it started working. I however do not have another AMD to try. I still have a hard time believing that it is a CPU that can cause this issue. The reason I even formatted and restored the AMD is because of spyware, all hardware seemed to be fine. If anyone else ever comes up with a theory please let me know.

Thanks,
Steve
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2007
Messages
2
I just formatted the drive and set it up from scratch after trouble shooting all the hardware. I reinstalled XP Home with an OEM CD and used the product key on the Emachine case, then downloaded all drivers. So there must have been something screwed up about the Emachine restore CD. All is well now.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top