1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

an't get emails

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by nick reynolds, Dec 1, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. nick reynolds

    nick reynolds Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 1999
    Messages:
    173
    Using OE5
    Have been using same ISP in UK for two years. Suddenly I can't access my emails. I get log in pop up repeatedly which I ensure are correctly filled in. In the end I hit cancel and eventualy get error message saying password wrong or not a valid user... server error 0X800CCC90 etc.
    No problem with using this ISP's dial up to connect to net and no problem accessing emails with other ISP's. In fact I have two email addresses with two different accounts with this ISP and same problem with both. I can't get through on the ISP's helpline and have got no reply to my email to them. Is this likely to be a problem at their end or mine?
     
  2. DoyceJ

    DoyceJ

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,208
    Sounds like a problem on their end.
     
  3. RandyG

    RandyG

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2000
    Messages:
    7,762
    What ISP are you using?
     
  4. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Hi Nick,

    Try this:

    GO TO:
    Your properties for that mail account.
    Then click the Servers Tab
    UNCLICK 'Logon using secure password authentication.'

    That may well fix the problem

    Good luck,
     
  5. nick reynolds

    nick reynolds Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 1999
    Messages:
    173
    logon secure server is already unchecked
    My isp is ic24

    Thanks
     
  6. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Then it could also be at their end.
    Did you already try contacting their support dept?

    Grtz.
     
  7. RandyG

    RandyG

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2000
    Messages:
    7,762
    Hi Nick,

    I would say this is definitely a problem at their end. I wouldn't recommend calling them, as, like most free ISPs over here, they charge £.50 per minute.

    Also like most free isp's, they have probably got substandard servers working, and too many clients clogging up the bandwidth. The message you are getting is also received when their server is hockeyed out of it, not just a problem with your configuration! I use 2 free ISPs in Ireland, and have to say that I have had very little trouble with them, but one, iegateway, will be going away soon, and I will be left with just one.

    Try [url="http://www.ukfreeisps.abelgratis.co.uk/ ]A Guide to UK Free ISPs[/url] for some alternatives.
     
  8. nick reynolds

    nick reynolds Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 1999
    Messages:
    173
    Sorry I've taken so long to reply - I've just reviewed my previous threads and found I'd not had the courtesy to finish this off. The problem is solved - no suprise! The problem was with the ISP.
     
  9. RandyG

    RandyG

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2000
    Messages:
    7,762
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/60276

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice