1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Ant Virus Checker ?

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by sportman13, May 4, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sportman13

    sportman13 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    238
    I have to get a virus Checker it is between advast and AVG Anti-Virus which is better I also want to know if their is a Link advisor in either of them ?
     
  2. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,939
    First Name:
    Frank
    I personally use AVG 9, but others claim that Alwil Avast 5 is better.

    The main interface window of AVG 9 is more user-friendly.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    I like AVG too - it doesn't always play well on everyone's system though. I've never had any problems with it. Been using it for years.
     
  4. sportman13

    sportman13 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    238
    Dose AVG 9, have a link advisor and Alwil Avast 5 anyone hear of Microsoft Security Essentials ?
     
  5. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    AVG9 has a Link Scanner. It blocks dangerous websites and checks links on the most popular search engines for threats.
     
  6. sportman13

    sportman13 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    238
  7. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    Looks like the attached picture.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. sportman13

    sportman13 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    238
    AVG9 popup Link or a toolbar message let you know a good or bad site
     
  9. new tech guy

    new tech guy

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    5,178
    Hm im on the fence between avast and avg, avg is nice but i found it to be a bit on the resource hungry side where avast runs very lean and is pretty responsive even on older machines...Matter of preference IMO. And yes ive heard of security essentials. It isnt bad at all, and extremely simple making it what i will probably use now on for shop jobs (its simple enough for the average user to understand w/o flooding their brain with too much info.)
     
  10. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
    I use MSE on all my computers at home.

    You may want to take a look at Avira as well.
    http://www.avira.com/en/download/index.php
     
  11. sportman13

    sportman13 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    238
    Dose AVG9 Link Scanner work with AVAST or other Anti Virus Checker software?
     
  12. new tech guy

    new tech guy

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    5,178
    I dont beleive so, it is part of the avg suite therefore needing avg to function, no way i know of to seperate it from avast
     
  13. sportman13

    sportman13 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    238
    I have to get a virus Checker it is between avast and AVG Anti-Virus
     
  14. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
    Then flip a coin. I personally felt that AVG had become bloated so I stopped using it after Version 7. I was using Avast on Vista for the longest time but when MSE came out I tried it on my wife's new computer and thought it worked great. So I put it on my old Vista computer and felt it worked much better than Avast.
     
  15. sportman13

    sportman13 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    238
    I Installed avg 9 I am using AVG LinkScanner my question is when I go to a site is their a indicator box which comes to tell you a good or bad sites
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/921090

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice