1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

antispyware delima

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by cougar_1, Oct 13, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. cougar_1

    cougar_1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    40
    I recently installed spyblaster 2.6.1. There is a disclaimer that says spyblaster could render other antispyware programs inoperable. As it turns out spybot does not work anymore. Here is my question, should I keep spyblaster and not worry about spybot or should I uninstall spyblaster (if so, how?)?
     
  2. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,185
    First Name:
    Derek
    what's wrong with spybot
     
  3. oldie

    oldie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    4,901
    Uninstall Spyblaster - I believe it has it's own uninstall feature - get back Spybot - and AdAware also - they DO work along side each other

    Regards - oldie
     
  4. $teve

    $teve

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    Messages:
    9,396
    Your not meaning "spyblast" by any chance are you cougar?
     
  5. cougar_1

    cougar_1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    40
    i mean spywarblaster
     
  6. cougar_1

    cougar_1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    40
    spywareblaster

    -d'oh
     
  7. BillC

    BillC

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    2,366
    I'm curious. Are you talking about the program SpywareBlaster by Javacool? I've never heard of a conflict with it and Spybot. Did this problem just occur after installing SpywareBlaster? :confused:
     
  8. cougar_1

    cougar_1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    40
    yes, BillC that is correct. Spybot will not run since i installed spywareblaster from javacool. Do you have both running?
     
  9. BillC

    BillC

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    2,366
    Thank you for your answer Cougar. I do use SpywareBlaster , but I've not got Spybot running...yet. Actually, I have some other "commerical" {meaning I paid for them} programs like Spybot including Pest Patrol and Spy Sweeper. I got those before I know about the Spybot applicatin and plan on switching when I have to pay for a renewal. That is why I was asking.

    But actually, I do believe there are many folks that use both Spybot and SpywareBlaster together. I'm wondering what has caused your issue? Duh...I guess you are wondering too.

    Hopefully someone will come along and shed some light. What I usually do is the uninstall, reboot, reinstall, and reboot again solution to see if I can fix things.
     
  10. cougar_1

    cougar_1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    40
    Well, spybot is working for some reason. I decided to uninstall the active blocker that spybot has under imunize, maybe 2 programs doing the same thing causes conflict (this conflict may be between spybot's blocker and "spygaurd" not spybot and spywareblaster)-confused, me too. Here is another question, is it overkill to have spybot, adaware, spywareblaster and spywaregaurd working together?
     
  11. Flrman1

    Flrman1

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    46,329
    I use Spybot, Adaware, Spywareblaster and Spywaregaurd. Never had any conflicts.
     
  12. cbber

    cbber

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    I have also recently installed SpywareGuard and SpywareBlaster.....upon attempting to run these I get the following message:

    Run time error '339'
    MSCOMCTL.OCX or one of its dependencies not currently registered:a file is missing or invalid.

    What does this mean? How do I fix it?

    Thanks.
     
  13. brendandonhu

    brendandonhu

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    14,681
    http://www.spywareinfo.com/downloads/tools/missingfilesetup.exe
     
  14. winchester73

    winchester73

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Messages:
    2,438
    I run Ad-Aware 6, SpywareGuard, SpywareBlaster and ie-spyad with no compatability issues.
     
  15. $teve

    $teve

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    Messages:
    9,396
    Me too(y) and also MRUBlaster
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/171656

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice