1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

AntiVirus - Not Monitored ????

Discussion in 'General Security' started by Robert the Bruce, Jan 19, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Robert the Bruce

    Robert the Bruce Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,414
    Every now and then my McAfee Security System pops up and tells me that my computer may be at risk and that my security system needs attention. Turns out, it's my Real-Time Scanning which keeps turning itself off.
    At the same time my Windows Security tells me that my Ant-Virus is not monitored. When I turn on my Real-Time Scanning everything is fine, for a while.
    This happened before and eventually Windows crashed altogether and wouldn't re-boot or switch on. I had to have Windows re-installed but that hasn't, it seemed, solved the problem. So what do I do ? I'm no expert.
     
  2. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    11,578
    First off, I would do some online antivirus scans, just to make sure, because viruses sometimes disable your antivirus programs.

    Google for 'online virus scan' and you should see several: Trendmicro Housecall, BitDefender, Kapersky and Panda.
     
  3. Robert the Bruce

    Robert the Bruce Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,414
    How do I turn on my Windows (XP) Virus Protection ? I just can't find how to turn it on. It's currently set to off. It was at 'Not Monitored'.
     
  4. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Follow up from HERE:


    If you believe your McAfee antivirus and firewall ARE active, you may need to reset Windows Security Center.

    1. Click on Start > Run > type services.msc

    2. Locate and stop Windows Management Instrumentation & Security Center. By default, the Startup Type on both should be Automatic.

    3. Go to C:\WINDOWS\system32\wbem.

    4. Only delete the Repository folder.

    5. Reboot your computer.

    This will rebuild the deleted folder and the database. Now the Windows Security Center should show the correct info for antivirus and firewall.
     
  5. Robert the Bruce

    Robert the Bruce Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,414
    OK, I did what you suggested and my Virus Protection was indeed back to 'ON'. So thanks for that. However, after I rebooted my computer and went to restart Windows Management Instrumentation and Security Centre, I noticed that they were ALREADY started. Is this OK ?
    Also, my McAfee Security - Real Time Scanning has been causing me problems lately. It keeps (after initially starting up computer) turning itself off. Could this Windows issue have been causing this odd problem with McAfee ?
     
  6. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Yes, it's normal for the services to be already started. Their Startup Type is Automatic.

    Have you kept McAfee updated?

    You can also try uninstalling McAfee, first from "Add or remove programs", next by running the McAfee Consumer Product Removal Tool. Then, reinstall McAfee.

    If that doesn't fix McAfee, I would recommend much lighter and effective free alternatives, like Microsoft Security Essentials or Avira Antivir.
     
  7. Robert the Bruce

    Robert the Bruce Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,414
    I re-installed McAfee just the other day, thought that would do it. Things were fine with the computer for a while. Then this all started. Hopefully it's fixed now but won't know until I leave computer off for a day or so.
     
  8. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    11,578
    So you re-installed Windows and Mcafee, and still your real time scanning is switched off?
     
  9. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    113,988
    I've merged yet another thread here after closing another one.

    Please continue in this thread until the issue is resolved.
     
  10. Robert the Bruce

    Robert the Bruce Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,414
    Windows XP was re-installed in the repair shop a week or so ago. McAfee was re-installed a few days ago. Real-Time Scanning was STILL turning itself off even after the re-installations. I think the Windows issue has now been solved which in turn has solved the McAfee problem. At least I hope so.
     
  11. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    11,578
    What was the Windows issue ?
     
  12. Robert the Bruce

    Robert the Bruce Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,414
    My Windows Security System was telling me that my Virus Protection was turned off. That then changed to 'Not Monitored' but that may have been me who changed thatin an effort to solve the issue. At the same time my McAfee Security System was telling me that my Real-Time Scanning was turned off. I would then proceed to turn the Real-Time Scanning to 'on'. However, I couldn't get Windows Virus Protection to turn on, until recently, and I wrongly assumed that once I'd managed (with help - see previous) to turn Windows Virus Protection 'on' that would in turn solve the McAfee issue. It didn't.
    Now I'm at the end of my tether.
    I switched on the computer this evening only to discover that there was no sound. I got a message telling me that no sound system had been detected on my system. But at least McAfee Real-Time Scanning wasn't giving me problems.......yet.
    I restarted my computer and was happy to discover that the sound had returned. However, now McAfee was telling me that Real-Time Scanning AND McAfee Online Back-Up needed attention.
    So I turned on Real-Time Scanning and went through the Online Back-Up Procedure (I couldn't help but wonder why I haven't needed to go through this before). I'd gotten so far when Windows 'detected an error' and decided to shut down my computer.
    After the computer rebooted there was a message there which said Windows has just recovered from a serious error. I now have a new McAfee Icon which I didn't have before (Online Back-Up). HELP PLEASE
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/975636

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice