1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Any help with ATI vid, on UBUNTU 10.10

Discussion in 'Linux and Unix' started by necrovamp, Jan 28, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. necrovamp

necrovamp Thread Starter

I'm very new to linux so If you have any suggestions, please spell them out for me step-by-step.

I want to use something other than the generic driver for my Mobility radeon hd2600

The first thing I tried was getting the driver directly from the ati website, I had to install it using console, but i didnt run it as root (or sudo), after it installed and restarted linux would not boot up, the vid driver messed it up, I tried using various console commands to get the old driver in the end, but in the end I Gave up and reinstalled. (PS it almost worked in failsafe vid mode-no menus)

On my new installastion, I tried using the additional drivers feature and installed the new driver ubuntu suggested.
    It installed, and I could actuually login.
    Everything seemed fine, untill I opened any application, After that, the computer started lagging, at least 1 second between mouse and keyboard movements (When i say the computer started lagging, it was either that or the video card output)

I was able to safely uninstall that without messing anything up. Now I'm back to the regular generic driver, Any suggestions?

2. lotuseclat79

lotuseclat79

Have you installed mplayer and its dependent packages via System>Administration>Synaptic Package Manager? Then you can issue the command line Terminal command: mplayer file.avi

-- Tom

3. necrovamp

necrovamp Thread Starter

I'll go ahead and do that, if I may ask what does mplayer have to do with my video drivers?

4. lotuseclat79

lotuseclat79

Hi necrovamp,