1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Any way of Overclocking an Intel BX2 mobo?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by rmay635703, Sep 10, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rmay635703

    rmay635703 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,278
    I have an actual intel branded 440bx2 motherboard (several actually) that all have celery 333/366's. Is there any way to set the front side bus on these things? It seems that the board auto sets and prevents you from changing much of anything. Is there an overclockers bios for this perhaps? You can't jumper it (jumperless)

    Cheers
    Ryan
     
  2. Spyd

    Spyd

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Messages:
    81
    Intel never has been too overclocking-friendly until now (it will release several tools for its newer motherboards)
    Look into the manual (download a newer revision from its webpage) to see if they say something about the FSB.
    A 440Bx chipset can be safely overclocked to 133Mhz, but you'll need a passive heatsink in the northbridge.
     
  3. rmay635703

    rmay635703 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,278
    I know it supports 133mhz fsb but I can't seem to set it for that speed, hence the problem
     
  4. GwizJoe

    GwizJoe

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Messages:
    272
    You wanna' run a 66mhz CPU at 133 !?!?!?
    I like fireworks...,can I watch?
     
  5. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,854
    First Name:
    Rob
    You'll need to indentify the motherboard clearly and get the manual for it. In the Manual it should instruct you on how to increase the FSB. I doubt the CPU will run a at a FSB of 133Mhz but possibly lower if the mobo supports higher FSB's. Note that your RAM will also run at this faster FSB so it would be better to have PC100/133 RAM.
     
  6. rmay635703

    rmay635703 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,278
    I really didn't want/need 133mhz FSB but I know the paticular celeron I have will run 450mhz with a 100mhz bus and I wanted to try this but as I said the board gives no option of changing the bus speed the thing auto-detects and sets it for you.

    Cheers
     
  7. compilerxp

    compilerxp

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,629
    That how Intel does it with their motherboards... No O'C supported.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/163715

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice