1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Anyone Knows a Router with Multiple Networks?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by KKLC, Feb 16, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. KKLC

    KKLC Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    216
    I am currently working on a project that needs to install a router (or just a network device) that can offer 2 or more DHCP networks. We have been searching a network device for this but haven't gotten any good news yet. Does anyone know any model or device that can fulfill this requirement? Any suggestion is highly appreciated! Thanks.
     
  2. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    32,264
    First Name:
    James
    Most routers today have 2 or more networks... but what you are trying to achieve here?
     
  3. charan5b3

    charan5b3

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Messages:
    19
  4. KKLC

    KKLC Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    216
    Hi Couriant,

    To put 2 groups into 2 different subnets. Did you mean the SoHo routers? We are considering the more advanced SoHo or small-business ones instead of Cisco's enterprise ones.
     
  5. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    32,264
    First Name:
    James
    Are you looking for Ethernet connections only?
     
  6. KKLC

    KKLC Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    216
    Ethernet is a must, but Ethernet + wifi is a big plus!
     
  7. zx10guy

    zx10guy Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    5,942
    There are a few options. One is to go with the Aruba Networks Instant AP. It allows multiple SSIDs along with the ability to define individual DHCP scopes per SSID. Another option is from SonicWall. The W version of the TZ appliances have a built in AP and allow multiple SSIDs each with their own DHCP scope.

    I have a TZ215 on my home network and know that this works along with the more "enterprise" Dell PowerConnect W 620 (OEM from Aruba) which I also have multiple SSIDs and specific DHCP scopes.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Anyone Knows Router
  1. mfletcher
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    331
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1089734

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice