1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

anyone used a USB0-cat5 extender before?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by oryan707, Jan 29, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. oryan707

    oryan707 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Hi I need to use a USB extender to seperate my PC from it's USB devices (long story) but the cables are expensive,
    found this 'USB extender' which uses a cat5/6 cable to extender the signal through an adapter....without a booster/extender in there, would that work as well as chaining 'active extender' cables? Has anyone in here used this before? 'Cause it could save me some money using the usb-to-Cat5 cables as cat 5 cables are much cheaper by the distance.

    http://www.walmart.ca/en/ip/usb-extension-cable/10074961?trail=SRCH:C
    able%3A2004%3ASabrent&fromPLP=true&ancestorID=10003&searchString=Cable&
    moduleName=S0011&startSearch=&fromSearchBox=true&addFacet=2004%3ASabrent

    .vs using this:

    http://www.walmart.ca/en/ip/usb-20-...rch=&fromSearchBox=true&addFacet=2004:Sabrent

    Thanks for any feedback.
     
  2. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,910
    First Name:
    Rob
    The USB to Ethernet devices will limit your USB speeds to USB 1.1 or 12Mbits.

    The Active Extender Cable may be a better solution as it supposedly can handle high speed USB 2.0.

    Both devices are not perfect and not all devices work through them.

    Which cables are you referring too that are expensive?

    How long do you need this to work? I don't think daisy chaining the Active Extenders will work, there's likely a reason they only come with a maximum of 32ft. Regular USB cables should not exceed 16 ft. Longer lengths result in signal loss.
     
  3. oryan707

    oryan707 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    The second link in my post, the 32' Sarbent active extender, is 20 bucks but if I have to chian three of them that will be 60$.
    That's the cheapest one I could find at Walmart though...There are other's like this one 15' for 24$.

    http://www.canadacomputers.com/product_info.php?cPath=95_97&item_id=001532

    Isn't the whole point of the active extender that it boosts the signal though?
     
  4. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,910
    First Name:
    Rob
    Yes, but you can't boost the signal by daisy chaining them, they get power from the USB port and there's only 500mA available, each additionally extender isn't going to magically get power, they all will pull from that single USB port.

    Why do you need to go so long?

    You could use powered USB hubs, with 5 meter lengths, not sure on how many hubs can be daisy chained.

    More info on USB: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Universal_Serial_Bus
     
  5. oryan707

    oryan707 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Ok, I guess it's false advertising then, cause it says that in the product description it can be daisy chained, I just thought it would be more expensive.

    The Sabrent CB-USB XT Active Extension Cable boosts your USB signal an additional 32 feet. Overcome the standard limitation of USB devices, which transmit only up to 16 feet. These USB 2.0 compliant cables support data transfer rates up to 480Mbps and are fully backward compatible with both low and high-speed USB v1.1 devices. You can also daisy-chain these up to 80 feet in total length
    .

    Why so long? It's a long and complicated situation. Don't worry about it. :)

    About the powered usb hub, I was wondering if there was any difference between the 'active extender' in the Sabrent link(second link in the above post) and this iogear 'BOOSTER' cable, is that what you meant by powered hub?:

    http://www.walmart.com/ip/USB-2.0-Booster-Extension-Cable-16-Feet/4216975

    There is also a 'repeater cable' at 15' here:
    http://www.canadacomputers.com/product_info.php?cPath=95_97&item_id=001532

    Are 'extender' 'booster' and 'repeater' all the same?

    P.S a brief note on extension cables in your link:
    "The standard purposely defines this to prevent the use of extension cables."

    Maybe USB just doesn't want to be extended.
     
  6. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,910
    First Name:
    Rob
    Ok, then maybe those will work daisy chained, I guess as long as they don't use all the power they may work, I'd also assume that the device at the other end would have to be self powered and not need any power from the USB port.
     
  7. oryan707

    oryan707 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    ok did some googling, and found , on an astornomy forum, about using a powered USB hub at the end of the chain, not in the centre or as an extension but to , I dunno...bring the power back somehow? I heard about using powered hubs when I first started looking into this but felt that buying four hubs was not economical...but I could live with using one. I found this but am not sure if its' what I would need:

    http://www.canadacomputers.com/product_info.php?cPath=48_794_259&item_id=048197

    specifically were it says:

    "7 downstream facing ports"

    I'm not sure if that's what I want, could I plug devices into the HUB(powered with the DC adapter) and then plug in the daisy chain boosters out to the PC? Would that be where the plugs would be facing or would I want an 'upstream' HUB?

    What sounds right to you?
     
  8. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,910
    First Name:
    Rob
    If it has it's own power adapter it may work because it would be supplying the power to the device at the end of the chain. But if the device at the end doesn't require any power from the USB port, has it's own power supply, then that wouldn't be required.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1087434

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice