1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Aol 3.0

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by sdp3501, Dec 25, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sdp3501

    sdp3501 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2001
    Messages:
    510
    First Name:
    Shawn
    I installed AOL 3 after getting tired of all the intrusions with 6 and 7, and the continual updates in 5. it wont sign on. here's what i get
     
  2. sdp3501

    sdp3501 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2001
    Messages:
    510
    First Name:
    Shawn
    this is the error screen...

    <img src="http://forums.techguy.org/attachment.php?s=&postid=305058">
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Brooks

    Brooks Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2001
    Messages:
    2,323
    There were two versions of AOL 3.0. One was for windows 3.1 and one was for windows 95. Make sure you have the correct one for win95.

    Also, what Operating System are you running? XP is incompatable with earlier versions of AOL. You will need 7.0.

    Also, AOL is notoriously finicky about uninstalling and then reinstalling older versions of thier software. It has been known to leave machines unable to connect to any ISP.
     
  4. sdp3501

    sdp3501 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2001
    Messages:
    510
    First Name:
    Shawn
    i am running win98 and have aol 5.0 installed. if 3.0 will mess me up i wont do it till i have a backup system. the interface on aol3.o is refreshingly simple though! thank you
     
  5. jbcalg

    jbcalg

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    2,056
    another option is to pull aol4 off your W98 cd (W98 SE anyways)
    - in the win98\ols\aol folder

    i still use aol 4 (as a cheapo backup to the cable connection) and it works fine

    remember to save your 'organize' folder when you uninstall so you can add it to whatever version you end up running

    i've never had problems installing or uninstalling - using the add/remove function in control panel

    good luck
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/62915

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice