AOL (Always Off Line??)

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

FZWG

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Messages
974
Helping a friend with this ISP (AOL).

Trying to connect to the Internet results in painfully slow connection, freezes, connecting and getting disconnected, having to reboot, and sometimes getting the following message:

"Your connection to the AOL service was reset by the remote host"

Tried to rule out some possibilities.
Ran Spybot S&D, and did not find much there.
Ran HijackThis!, and got the following, which I believe might not have much to worry about (If there IS something to worry about, please, point out):

Logfile of HijackThis v1.96.1
Scan saved at 4:12:05 PM, on 10/15/2003
Platform: Windows ME (Win9x 4.90.3000)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 (6.00.2600.0000)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WINMODEM.101\wmexe.exe
C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG6\AVGSERV9.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SSDPSRV.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RESTORE\STMGR.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG6\AVGCC32.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\HEWLETT-PACKARD\AIO\HP PSC 900 SERIES\BIN\HPOBRT07.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\HEWLETT-PACKARD\AIO\SHARED\BIN\HPOEVM07.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\HEWLETT-PACKARD\AIO\SHARED\BIN\HPOSTS07.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\HEWLETT-PACKARD\AIO\SHARED\BIN\HPOFXM07.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WBEM\WINMGMT.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\HPOIPM07.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\AMERICA ONLINE 8.0\WAOL.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\AMERICA ONLINE 8.0\SHELLMON.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RNAAPP.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TAPISRV.EXE
C:\UTILITIES\HIJACKTHIS\HIJACKTHIS196\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 6.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.DLL
O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TaskMonitor] C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PCHealth] C:\WINDOWS\PCHealth\Support\PCHSchd.exe -s
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG_CC] C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVG6\avgcc32.exe /STARTUP
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [SchedulingAgent] mstask.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [*StateMgr] C:\WINDOWS\System\Restore\StateMgr.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [winmodem] WINMODEM.101\wmexe.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [Avgserv9.exe] C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVG6\Avgserv9.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [SSDPSRV] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ssdpsrv.exe
O4 - Startup: Microsoft Office.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\OSA9.EXE
O4 - Global Startup: HPAiODevice(hp psc 900 series) - 1.lnk = C:\Program Files\Hewlett-Packard\AiO\hp psc 900 series\Bin\hpobrt07.exe
O9 - Extra button: Related (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links (HKLM)
O9 - Extra button: Messenger (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: MSN Messenger Service (HKLM)
O9 - Extra button: Real.com (HKLM)
O16 - DPF: {4A3CF76B-EC7A-405D-A67D-8DC6B52AB35B} (QDiagAOLCCUpdateObj Class) - http://aolcc.aol.com/computercheckup/qdiagcc.cab
O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\VxD\MSTCP: Domain = aoldsl.net

AVG Grisoft scans are clean.

Besides trying to uninstall and reinstall AOL, or getting rid of it altogether, any suggestions as to how to get a less troubled connection?

Thank you for your help.
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2003
Messages
615
AOL is quite intense on mem usuage, shut down what you don't need to surf.

You could also try a speed booster, AOL sets a default speed limit on your machine. I use PPP boost. Windose also sets the TTL limit, you can change your
Max MTU
RWIN
TTL

with PPP Boost, there are other programs too.

Also make sure you are using the correct dial up number, delete the 1s you have by going to

Start/search/files+folders

Type in "search for files and folder" box global.org and make sure it is looking in C:drive

Delete the entries and run AOL.

Also make sure the modem and numbers are set for 57k

You can sort this at the sign on screen, select expert setup.

Double click numbers/modem and set it at 57k

If it is a newer version of AOL make sure that you have your modem drivers up to date


cheers

bookime
 

FZWG

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Messages
974
Thanks for the replies.

Getting rid of AOL 8 is always an option, however, want to try a few things to see if there is any improvement.

One of the suggestions (bookime) is to delete the first number dialed. Would appreciate knowing the rationale as to why or how this would help.

Is it because the server at that number could be part of the problem?

Would think the first number is correct, otherwise, AOL could not be reached at all.

On the modem, believe the drivers are OK, but you suggest updating them (if an update is available). Would think that if there is a problem with the modem, it would not establish a connection, at all.
 

yul

Joined
Feb 11, 2003
Messages
726
try this:

open AOL ->don't sign on.

on the toolbar->click on settings->preferences->font,text& graphics->reduce 'max disk space for online art' to 1->click save->close AOL and exit out of it.then open AOL again and don't sign on yet->again click on settings->preferences->font,text& graphics->click on reset->click save->close AOL and exit out of it.

go to start->programs->America online->aol system information->click on utilities tab->click uninstall aol adapter->click on ok->close aol system information by clicking close.

now open AOL it will install the aol adapter and sign on.
 

FZWG

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Messages
974
Thanks for the reply. Tried uninstalling the AOL adapter, but there does not seem to be any change. AOL just loads as slow as molasses.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Is it possible to test another ISP connection on the same phone line? It could be the phone line.
 

FZWG

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Messages
974
Thanks AcaCandy.

Thought about that, and brought their PC home. Same thing, so it is not their phone line.

Will try MSN and see how it goes.

These people might have to get rid of AOL.

It loads with a gazillion options that are not needed, and it's like leaving the car running out on the driveway all the time, just in case you have to go somewhere...
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
MSN loads a bit of crap too. You might check earthlink...I did a 45 day trial or whatever they had and really like their pop up blocker :D

They were working on the cable in the area :D
 

FZWG

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Messages
974
Will take a look at EarthLink also.

Thanks for the suggestion. Had not thought of that ISP.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top