AOL broadband installation help (UK)

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

scotbruce

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 7, 2002
Messages
9
A friend is trying to install a BT Voyager modem as part of a new AOL broadband installation, but his Dell, running ME, doesn't seem to want to install/recognise the new modem.
It says it's setting up the driver installation prior to connecting the modem), then shows a screen which goes to 100% and demands a reboot.
On rebooting, it follows the same procedure - and on it goes in a circle. There is no sign of the driver on the system.
On connecting the modem (which you shouldn't do until the driver has been installed, it says it's found new hardware and
a) same as above or
b) if manual, says it can't find the driver on the installation CD (!??) and won't install.
He did manage to get it installed once, near the beginning of his frustrating day, but the installation didn't give him the choice of which modem to use and defaulted to his Conexant. He later deleted it on AOL tech advice.
AOL techies were no help - he spent an hour on the phone with them, re-installing and re-installing the modem driver and supposedly deleting all previous versions of AOL (trying to use 7.0b, as supplied with the package), but he later found AOL 6.0 and 7.0 still on his system. They suggested seeking help from a computer shop/engineer!!??!!
Has uninstalled the AOL software, but still the same circular path.
Any suggestions - please?
Bruce
 

Del

Joined
Aug 31, 2001
Messages
3,452
Did you only get the one c.d.?
Should be compatible with Win ME.
And the best way to install the driver for the usb modem is the way you did, normally, you install the driver off the c.d.
Turn off the computer. Plug the USB modem into the USB port, turn on the computer and it should detect the new hardware, install the software for it and say reboot.
After rebooting it should be done.
 

scotbruce

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 7, 2002
Messages
9
Del
You're right, it should be, but it just isn't installed after the reboot and re-cycles again....
 

Del

Joined
Aug 31, 2001
Messages
3,452
Does he have any other USB devices attached?
If so, try it without anything but the Modem
 

scotbruce

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 7, 2002
Messages
9
Got him to fdisked, format and do a clean install _ hadn't deleted anything, scandisked or defragged since he'd bought the 'puter, anyway!).
Up and running fine with modem installed and broadband zooming away.
Thanks to all.
 

Del

Joined
Aug 31, 2001
Messages
3,452
Kinda sounded like he had a problem with the USB hub.
Good old 'fdisk'.
Glad he's up and running.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top