1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

AOL browser works, IE doesn't.

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by aeternanox, Sep 19, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. aeternanox

    aeternanox Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Well, my IE worked fine up until about two hours ago. I didn't change or delete anything to make it stop working. I tried a solution from the Microsoft Knowledge base (deleting the index.dat file), but my IE still doesn't work after following their steps to the mark. Here's a hijackthis log - maaaaybe someone can tell me what to do. I've tried searching for similar problems on this forum, but didn't find anything that exactly matched mine. AOL works, AIM works, anything else that uses my internet connection, but when I use IE, I get "The page cannot be displayed" or whatever, or some other message to tell me that I couldn't connect, or a grey screen. Hmm.

    Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.2
    Scan saved at 12:48:20 AM, on 9/19/2003
    Platform: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\WScript.exe
    C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\PC-cillin 2000\Pop3trap.exe
    C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\PC-cillin 2000\WebTrapNT.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Logitech\QCDriver\LVCOMS.EXE
    D:\PROGRA~1\PERSON~1\MpfTray.exe
    C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe
    C:\Program Files\Internet Neighborhood\clipmon.exe
    D:\America Online 9.0\aoltray.exe
    C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\PC-cillin 2000\PNTIOMON.exe
    C:\Program Files\Sony\VAIO Action Setup\VAServ.exe
    D:\Program Files\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\zonealarm.exe
    C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\PC-cillin 2000\pccntupd.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\AOL\ACS\acsd.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\spool\DRIVERS\W32X86\3\cnmsm3m.exe
    C:\Program Files\AOL COMPANION\COMPANION.EXE
    D:\PROGRA~1\PERSON~1\MpfAgent.exe
    D:\PROGRA~1\PERSON~1\MPFSERVICE.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\nvsvc32.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\PC-cillin 2000\Tmntsrv.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\ZoneLabs\vsmon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\wanmpsvc.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Softwin\BitDefender Communicator\xcommsvr.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Softwin\BitDefender Scan Server\bdss.exe
    c:\progra~1\Support.com\client\bin\tgcmd.exe
    C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
    D:\America Online 9.0\waol.exe
    D:\America Online 9.0\shellmon.exe
    D:\America Online 9.0\aolwbspd.exe
    D:\Warez\Windows Tools\HijackThis.exe

    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://mail.yahoo.com/?.refer=slv&.intl=us
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://rd.yahoo.com/customize/yessentials/defaults/*http://my.yahoo.com
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://www.sony.com/vaiopeople
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 5.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.ocx
    O2 - BHO: Yahoo! Companion BHO - {13F537F0-AF09-11d6-9029-0002B31F9E59} - C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Companion\ycomp5_0_2_3.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\msdxm.ocx
    O3 - Toolbar: &Yahoo! Companion - {EF99BD32-C1FB-11D2-892F-0090271D4F88} - C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Companion\ycomp5_0_2_3.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ZTgServerSwitch] c:\program files\support.com\client\lserver\server.vbs
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE NvQTwk,NvCplDaemon initialize
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Pop3trap.exe] "C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\PC-cillin 2000\Pop3trap.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [WebTrapNT.exe] "C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\PC-cillin 2000\WebTrapNT.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LVCOMS] C:\Program Files\Common Files\Logitech\QCDriver\LVCOMS.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NeroCheck] C:\WINDOWS\system32\NeroCheck.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [WorkFlo] F:\Install\WorkFlow.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MPFExe] D:\PROGRA~1\PERSON~1\MpfTray.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [IN Clipboard Monitor] C:\Program Files\Internet Neighborhood\clipmon.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Drive Monitoring Agent] C:\WINDOWS\System32\ndmonNT.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [PopupKiller] C:\PROGRA~1\POPUPK~1\PopupKiller.exe
    O4 - Startup: BJ Status Monitor Canon S520.lnk = C:\Documents and Settings\AeternalisNox\cnmss3m.exe
    O4 - Global Startup: Adobe Gamma Loader.exe.lnk = C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Calibration\Adobe Gamma Loader.exe
    O4 - Global Startup: America Online 9.0 Tray Icon.lnk = D:\America Online 9.0\aoltray.exe
    O4 - Global Startup: Real-time Monitor.lnk = ?
    O4 - Global Startup: VAIO Action Setup (Server).lnk = ?
    O4 - Global Startup: ZoneAlarm.lnk = D:\Program Files\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\zonealarm.exe
    O9 - Extra button: Yahoo! Login (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Yahoo! Login (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Messenger (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Yahoo! Messenger (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: ICQ Pro (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: ICQ (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: AIM (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Real.com (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Messenger (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger (HKLM)
    O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
    O14 - IERESET.INF: START_PAGE_URL=http://www.sony.com/vaiopeople
    O16 - DPF: {01111E00-3E00-11D2-8470-0060089874ED} (Support.com SmartIssue) - http://support.charter.com/sdccommon/download/tgctlsi.cab
    O16 - DPF: {01113300-3E00-11D2-8470-0060089874ED} (Support.com Configuration Class) - http://support.charter.com/sdccommon/download/tgctlcm.cab
    O16 - DPF: {166B1BCA-3F9C-11CF-8075-444553540000} (Shockwave ActiveX Control) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/director/sw.cab
    O16 - DPF: {1954A4B1-9627-4CF2-A041-58AA2045CB35} (Brix6ie Control) - http://a19.g.akamai.net/7/19/7125/1269/ftp.coupons.com/v6/brix6ie.cab
    O16 - DPF: {30528230-99F7-4BB4-88D8-FA1D4F56A2AB} (YInstStarter Class) - http://download.yahoo.com/dl/installs/yinst.cab
    O16 - DPF: {41F17733-B041-4099-A042-B518BB6A408C} - http://a1540.g.akamai.net/7/1540/52...le.com/samantha/us/win/QuickTimeInstaller.exe
    O16 - DPF: {486E48B5-ABF2-42BB-A327-2679DF3FB822} - http://akamai.downloadv3.com/binaries/IA/ia_XP.cab
    O16 - DPF: {4A3CF76B-EC7A-405D-A67D-8DC6B52AB35B} (QDiagAOLCCUpdateObj Class) - http://aolcc.aol.com/computercheckup/qdiagcc.cab
    O16 - DPF: {4C226336-4032-489F-9674-67E74225979B} (OTXMovie Class) - http://otx.ifilm.com/OTXMedia/OTXMedia.dll
    O16 - DPF: {74D05D43-3236-11D4-BDCD-00C04F9A3B61} (HouseCall Control) - http://a840.g.akamai.net/7/840/537/bcd48c18cb7498/housecall.antivirus.com/housecall/xscan53.cab
    O16 - DPF: {9A54032D-31F7-400D-B184-83B33BDE65FA} (MSN File Upload Control) - http://sc.communities.msn.com/controls/FileUC/MsnUpld.cab
    O16 - DPF: {A17E30C4-A9BA-11D4-8673-60DB54C10000} (YahooYMailTo Class) - c:\program files\yahoo!\installs\ymmapi.dll
    O16 - DPF: {AE1C01E3-0283-11D3-9B3F-00C04F8EF466} (HeartbeatCtl Class) - http://fdl.msn.com/zone/datafiles/heartbeat.cab
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
    O16 - DPF: {DF6A0F17-0B1E-11D4-829D-00C04F6843FE} (Microsoft Office Tools on the Web Control) - http://officeupdate.microsoft.com/TemplateGallery/downloads/outc.cab
    O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\Tcpip\..\{ECF3ED4A-CA5A-4A03-AB50-5AF3E5DB9925}: NameServer = 64.12.104.4
     
  2. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Have you rebooted since this problem began?

    I see you have two antivirus programs running, PC-Cillin and Bit Defender, really not a good idea.

    PC-Cillin has been implicated in some similar issues, but it is usually corrected, at least temporarily by rebooting.

    Anyway if it persists, as a test, you should disable both the antivirus and firewall applications and in fact clean boot the system by running msconfig and clearing the Load Startup Items check box for a test.

    If Clean booting doesn't shed any light, I'd try a prompt System Restore.

    Just out of curiousity though, before you do anything, even reboot, open a Command window (start, run: cmd) and try entering:

    ipconfig /flushdns

    Does that help any?
     
  3. aeternanox

    aeternanox Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Well, flushdns didn't help it, but I uninstalled BitDefender (I'd been trying to diable one of the two the other day and couldn't figure out how to do it, so I just got rid of the one I didn't give a hoot about). Then, I diabled PC-Cillin and my firewalls and did a clean boot like you said and VIOLA! It's working again, like a charm! Thank you ever so much, Rollin' Rog - you saved my day!

    PS - I figured out that I had to reenable my LAN connection, but I at least know enough to have succesfully accomplished that. Hehee.
     
  4. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Good to hear. But be sure to re-enable PC-Cillin and the firewall.

    If the problem re-curs, just disable one at a time. Pay special attention to PC-Cillin's "Webtrap" application -- that has been implicated in some past issues.

    And bygosh, now I notice that you have ZoneAlarm as well as McAfee Personal firewall. Sheesh, you are just asking for complications
     
  5. chandler47x

    chandler47x

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Hi, hope this thread is still open. I found it through a google and sounds very similar to my problem. AOL works, IE doesn't. I tried the fixes recommended by Rollin Rog, they did nothing for the problem.

    I have Windows XP Home SP1, Pentium 4 2.8 GHz w/ 800 MHz FSB, 640 MB ram. I have McAfee Virus Scan Online, McAfee Personal Firewall Express, AdAware SE Plus. Also run SpyBot from time to time.

    I log on to the web with AOL 9.0SE with broadband cable modem no problem. If I minimize AOL and open IE I get "Page cannot be displayed". At the bottom it says "Server error or DNS error."

    Also, I have MusicMatch jukebox came with my RCA Lyra Wireless transmitter that sends signal from my computer to my home stereo. Sends signal fine, I can listen to AOL Radio but I'm supposed to be able to connect to some streaming radio sites through MusicMatch and again I either get the "Page cannot be displayed", or it tells me I need to connect to the internet!

    Also noticed, that my Nero Ultra has a link that checks for updates. I know for a fact that this used to work but now when I click on it I get a message from Nero that says I must be connected to the internet to use this function!

    What up? Also, AdAware has the same problem checking for Web Updates.

    I also noticed when I was in the Help and Support area of XP trying to use their Troubleshooting function, it had a link to see if my ethernet card was on their list, but, glory be, XP told me I had to be connected to the internet!! Even though I was.

    I also tried to download a new version of IE 6.0 thinking my current one is corrupted or something. I start the download and then it says it is connecting to a site to determine available sites and then I get a message saying, "Setup was unable to download information about available sites. Setup may have been unable to use your current proxy server settings...etc."

    So, I am ripping out what little hair I have remainining and also going blurry eyed from searching and rebooting and....you know.

    Would really appreciate a little advice. Thanks,

    Mark Williams
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/165859

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice