AOL IM installation

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

spudsmon

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 29, 2001
Messages
4
I have a problem with installing AIM 4.7.2480. Whenever I get thru the installation process, an error message appears "you cannot made any system modifications. Please rerun installation from an administrator's account". I am using Win98 OS.

1) Is the problem with Win98? As far as I know, there is no distinction made upon logging on the computer and who is an administrator - correct?

2) Is the problem with AIM? I downloaded several times the latest version of AIM and previous versions of AIM with the same result.

3) Is the problem with Norton AntiVirus and Firewall protection software? I tried to disable all Norton prorams and install and received the same result as above.
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,313
Hiya and Welcome

Is AIM 4.7.2480 the new beta version or is this the finalised product? The reason I ask is that there seems to be some problems incuding some security flaws with this version.

An administartors account is usually mentioned if you're on a network, or your PC has more than one user.

Sorry, just read a bit further. You have tried other versions. I assume these are from the AOL site.

Just confirm that you are the sole user and that you're not part of a network.

Regards

eddie
 

spudsmon

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 29, 2001
Messages
4
AIM 4.7.2480 is the latest released version of AIM. I tried to download other AIM versions off the AIM website and got the same result ... I am not on a network (stand-alone PC), however I have different users set up on this PC. The different users allow you to set up your own desktop, etc. I am using Win98 OS. Any further suggestions? Thanks!!
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,313
Okay

So, you have different users on the same PC. There will be a main User that has more privilages than the others. He/she would be the one who was first installed on the machine, and then the others that were logged on were created by that person. Have you tried installing AIM through that persons account?

Regards

eddie
 

spudsmon

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 29, 2001
Messages
4
Yes, I did log thru the other person's account, install the program, and everything worked OK. When I logged back on my account, that is where I ran into the problems. AIM started automatically, my screen name was not saved, etc. I try to save changes (under my account) but to no avail. I go back into AIM and all the saves I made was lost. Any solutions? PS - how do I make my account the same as the "administrator's"? I thought that in Win98, everybody had the same priviledge ...
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,313
Okay

This may have to be carried out by the adminstrator. Have a read of this:

http://www.computertim.com/howto/articles/windows/w12.htm

For instance, I have Win2000. I am the administrator and if I want, I can set up other accounts. These I can block for certain programs. Windows 98, by the looks of it, can do the same.

Regards

eddie
 

spudsmon

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 29, 2001
Messages
4
If I set up a new user profile, AIM seems to work correctly. However, I lose other things. For example, Office 2000 was installed under the user profile I normally use and if I go under a new user, I can't use Office 2000 (and I don't have the installation disk anymore). How do I make my user profile I normally use work as an administrator's account? Anything under regedit possibly?
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,313
Hiya

Have you tried setting it up from the administrators account? If you go via that, I am assuming that you could specify which programs you can use.

eddie
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top