1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

AOLacsd.exe Unable to Locate Component

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by mapness, Mar 19, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mapness

    mapness Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    I have a Dell Inspiron E1501, using Windows XP. I am unable to open my AOL 9.5. There is a persistent bar on my screen that states:

    AOLacsd.exe - Unable to Locate Component. This application has failed to start because xpat.dll was not found. Re-installing the application may fix this problem.

    What do I do to get my AOL back? Thank you!
     
  2. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    Hi and welcome

    You should try uninstalling, then reinstalling the AOL software.
     
  3. mapness

    mapness Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Thank you, Cheeseball81.

    Per your suggestion, I uninstalled AOL and installed AOL 9.5 and that has worked out fine.

    This whole thing started when I got a security alert pop-up about a Mal something. I clicked on the "Fix it link" and that is what caused me to lose my access to AOL because of the lost component, or whatever it was. Even with the newly installed AOL, I got that same security alert again within a few minutes. This time, I ignored it and I'm now nervous about that.

    Is this Mal thing something I need to be concerned about?
     
  4. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    It sounds like it could be something of concern.

    Do you have virus protection on your PC?

    Click here to download HJTInstall.exe
    • Save HJTInstall.exe to your desktop.
    • Doubleclick on the HJTInstall.exe icon on your desktop.
    • By default it will install to C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\HijackThis .
    • Click on Install.
    • It will create a HijackThis icon on the desktop.
    • Once installed, it will launch Hijackthis.
    • Click on the Do a system scan and save a logfile button. It will scan and the log should open in notepad.
    • Click on "Edit > Select All" then click on "Edit > Copy" to copy the entire contents of the log.
    • Come back here to this thread and Paste the log in your next reply.
    • DO NOT have Hijackthis fix anything yet. Most of what it finds will be harmless or even required.
     
  5. mapness

    mapness Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Hello, Cheeseball81...

    In reply to your question, "Do you have virus protection on your PC?," yes, I do have a security program provided from Trend Micro. Shortly after I got that pop-up alert about "Mal..." I did a complete security scan and it came out clear. I haven't encountered the pop-up alert since but I will retain your "Hijack This" download suggestion and give that a try should I get that alert again.

    Many thanks for your assistance!
     
  6. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/911299

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice