Appears a screenshot of my entire screen is taken

sharky

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 8, 2001
Messages
1,364
Every so often it looks like a screenshot of my web page is taken.
It has gone for about a year now, about once every 3 months.

No one else uses my computer
When it happen today, i was on a web page ordering toilet paper,one other time on twitter
The screenshot,if that is what it is, takes the entire screen-not just webpage
i dont surf on anything controversial, no facebook,no political pages,etc
i posted this topic before but at the time i was unsure if it was a one time occurrence or consistent---ie consistent
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2008
Messages
2,735
Me personally.......I would do a clean install ASAP because it sure sounds like you've been compromised in some fashion. In instances like this I don't take a chance, I wipe/format the drive and do a clean install.

As for any personal data on that drive....I would only save pictures/video and personal documents and move that to a USB drive. Then take that drive to a 2nd PC/laptop and scan it for Virus's/Malware. The rest I would let go in the clean install.
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2017
Messages
579
What makes you think there has been a screenshot taken? Is the screenshot saved to your computer? What is happening when you think there has been a screenshot taken?
what version of windows are you running?
Be sure "Remote Assistance" is disabled.
 

sharky

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 8, 2001
Messages
1,364
Sorry for not responding promptly. Had a convid19 scare/concern for the past 3 weeks. Negative incidentally.

To answer some questions:
Remote assistance was already disabled..
I completed many different virus,malware,spybot,malabyte and other scans over the past 3 weeks.
Changed passwords
A full reinstall. --i would like not to do that...that would be a huge project and would likely cause many time consuming issues. For one i have win10 over WIN7 and not sure if i would get WIN10

To refresh this topic/issue from my first post: : 'Every so often it looks like a screenshot of my FULL SCREEN is taken'---ie tashbar,web page,everything
It had not happen for about a month. Occurred 3 times in past 3 days..and actually occurred as i typed this post
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 8, 2008
Messages
2,735
What browsers are you using and which one is it happening on? Or does this just happen using the OS....ie looking file explorer, music folder and picture folder and so on?
 

managed

Allan
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
14,034
Please describe exactly what happens when it 'takes a screenshot'.
 

sharky

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 8, 2001
Messages
1,364
RE Chrome browser.

RE:"describe exactly what happens when it 'takes a screenshot"

I will be moseying along on the internet, all of a sudden the entire screen blinks out for 2 seconds.
When i say the entire screen i mean 100% of the screen...not just the browser section of the screen but taskbar, bookmark shortcut tabs. If i am on a webpage that has sound going on, ie, music, radio,you tube page, i dont think the sound goes out for the 2 seconds.
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2008
Messages
2,735
If it's just happen in Chrome.....I'd uninstall it.....ASAP! Then reboot, download a fresh copy and install Chrome.

Are you signed in to Chrome and have sync turned on? If so, you will need to clean chrome complete while being signed in. There a place in chrome settings to do that....I forget where atm. If not, when you install chrome and sign in all your setting will move over and with that along comes the issue.
 

sharky

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 8, 2001
Messages
1,364
If it's just happen in Chrome.....I'd uninstall it.....ASAP! Then reboot, download a fresh copy and install Chrome.

Are you signed in to Chrome and have sync turned on? If so, you will need to clean chrome complete while being signed in. There a place in chrome settings to do that....I forget where atm. If not, when you install chrome and sign in all your setting will move over and with that along comes the issue.
I am on chrome 99.99999% of the year so i cant say if it happens only on Chrome.
Sync is off.
Going to do that. Uninstall and clean copy of Chrome. I have alot of 'stuff' build up over 3 years of Chrome
Already removed a bunch of extensions.

Although I have a gut feeling it is not the browser doing this mystery like screenshot
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2008
Messages
2,735
Although I have a gut feeling it is not the browser doing this mystery like screenshot
Me either...but start with the easiest first.

I would run NPE - Norton Power Eraser and see what if finds, if anything.
https://support.norton.com/sp/static/external/tools/npe.html

You stated you have and run Malwarebytes.....is this the free or paid version? In the settings have you made sure that the box for check root kits is enabled?
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2020
Messages
10
What OS are you using? Are you possibly hitting a shortcut key combination that takes a screenshot?
 

managed

Allan
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
14,034
I don't think it's anything to do with taking a screenshot, it's more likely to be some sort of graphics problem.
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top