1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

application quits

Discussion in 'Apple Mac' started by heidigirl63, Jan 20, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. heidigirl63

    heidigirl63 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Recently when I try to print a document from an application it quits on me and I have to re-open that application. This happens with Acrobat, Indesign, Preview and sometimes Quark, and only upon the initial opening of that application. Does this have anything to do with the MAC system or my printer? Any help would be appreciated.

    MMM
     
  2. exegete

    exegete

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    354
    Howdy. Don't think it has anything to do with the printer. Have you repaired permissions? Sometimes that can solve the problem.
     
  3. heidigirl63

    heidigirl63 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    how do you repair permissions?
     
  4. exegete

    exegete

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    354
    You have to have the original OS X install CD/DVD. Start up the computer from the CD/DVD (by holding down the "C" on the keyboard). Once that happens, you will see the Install commands. Do NOT install. Rather on the menus, look for Disk Utilities. Open that, and then on the left choose the hard drive,a nd then on the right below the window, choose Repair permissions. Depending on whether you have done it - and it sounds as if you haven't - or how fast your processor is, it may take a few minutes. Once that is done, Quit Disk Utilities, and then Quit Installer. It will ask whether you want to switch Startup disks. No need to do that. Just check Quit, and the computer will retart (do NOT hold down the "C" on the keyboard this time). After it restarts you can remove the CD/DVD.
     
  5. VegasACF

    VegasACF

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,064
    This is not correct. To repair permissions you do not need the original install disc(s). You only need to run Disk Utility, which is installed in the Utilities Folder (which is inside the Applications Folder). The quickest way to get to this folder is to hold down Command-Shift and press the "U" key. The Utilities folder will open.

    Find Disk Utility in this folder, double click it. Select the start-up disk (possibly the only one listed, but depends upon your setup). Click on the Repair Permissions button.

    The above is correct if you need to select the "Repair Disk" option, as you cannot repair a disk from which you've booted, but for merely repairing permission there is no such necessity.
     
  6. exegete

    exegete

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    354
    Ah, yes, I developed the habit of starting from the CD/DVD without another thought. Sorry for the confusion.
     
  7. VegasACF

    VegasACF

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,064
    No worries. You can do it that way. But you do not have to do it that way.

    :)
     
  8. shyataroo

    shyataroo

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    166
    you only use that if you want to do a disk first aid repair. (the start up from a DVD/CD)
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/536970

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice