1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Application won't launch

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by IBM, Jul 11, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. IBM

    IBM Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2000
    Messages:
    824
    I have recently encountered two applications on two diff systems
    that refuse to load.

    If I double click on the application the process manager shows the process starts, but
    it has zero cpu cycles zero ram and shortly afterwards the process clsoes.

    In short the application will not start up?

    On one computer, I don't recall the application, but it is a legitamte application.

    On the other it is IMESH. It's been reinstalled 5 times but it continues this wierd behaviour.
    Anti-spyware is disabled, it still won't load.... I don't get it.

    Any ideas?

    This is the first time I am seeing this kind of behaviour....

    thanks!

    p.s
    I don't condone Imesh.
    This is someone elses computer... it's none of my business.
     
  2. ozrom1e

    ozrom1e

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    11,849
    Could we have some information on both computers like system specs, make and model and what the programs are that will not run?

    And are these company computers?
     
  3. The Hound

    The Hound

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,235
    Applications like iMesh are clearly covered in the TSG Rules.

    What is the other app which won't start?
     
  4. IBM

    IBM Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2000
    Messages:
    824
    Would you look at at that... there are p2p rules :p

    Thanks.

    As for the second program, heh... I just don't remember which program it was.
    I think it was a utility of some sort... not spybot... hmmm... trying to think .....
    hmmm... huhhhh.... hehhhh....ho hum.... lol

    Hmm... spywareblaster maybe??? oh... it was Mcaffee!!... ugghh.. I think...I hope.
    For some reason I couldn't get it to start.

    Information on this system:
    WinXP Home SP2
    512Mb RAM
    It's a Dell System
    Running Spybot/tea timer and SpywareBlaster.

    Don't know what else to tell ya...?

    Thanks for the responses! I don't know how to tackle this one on my own.
     
  5. ozrom1e

    ozrom1e

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    11,849
    With out knowing what program it was that was giving you the trouble makes it a little but difficult to troubleshoot. Did you write down any of the error messages? It might be an infection please to try this and follow instructions:

    To download HJTsetup.exe fromTrendSecure To Download HijackThis go to the following at the File Repository
    Click on the link below to Download HijackThis Self Installer:

    http://www.trendsecure.com/portal/en-US/threat_analytics/HJTInstall.exe

    Save the file to your desktop.
    Double click on the HJTsetup.exe icon on your desktop.
    By default it will install to C:\Program Files\HijackThis.
    Continue to click Next in the setup dialog boxes until you get to the Select Additional Tasks dialog.
    Put a check by Create a desktop icon then click Next again.
    Continue to follow the rest of the prompts from there.
    At the final dialog box click Finish and it will launch Hijack This.
    Click on the Do a system scan and save a log file button. It will scan and then ask you to save the log.
    Click Save to save the log file and then the log will open in notepad.
    At the top of the Notepad HJT log screen, hit Edit then Select All then click Edit and then click Copy doing that copies the text to the clipboard, you won't see it yet....
    Come back here to this thread and Paste the log in your next reply.
    DO NOT have Hijack This fix anything yet. Most of what it finds will be harmless or even required.
    A security expert with a gold shield to the right of their name should take a look at your log - please be patient.
     
  6. IBM

    IBM Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2000
    Messages:
    824
    Hi and thank you for the continued support.

    There are no error messages.. really no reaction at all
    from clicking on the programs icon.

    The program i am pretty sure is McAffee.

    I also am pretty sure I ruled out malware/spyware.
    Hijackthis is clean.

    I am not worrying about it anymore though... :)
    McAffee has been removed for a better setup of separate
    antivirus,firewall,spyware softwares.

    But thank you for the helpful suggestions.
    Hopefully I won't see this kind of issue again
    for a long time if ever.

    -IBM
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Application won't launch
  1. alanh01
    Replies:
    15
    Views:
    876
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/594635

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice