1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

are you sure you want to permanently delete these message(s)

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by Hoboluke, Feb 20, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Hoboluke

    Hoboluke Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    This must have been asked before, but I cannot find an answer. I use Outlook Express. When I want to clean up my "Deleted Files" folder, each time I try to delete for the final time, I get a pop-up... "Are you sure you want to permanently delete these message(s)"

    It's a small thing, but very aggravating to me. Does anybody know a tweak that can stop this message from appearing?
     
  2. Benny Bumble

    Benny Bumble

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    345
    Hi,
    Would it be convenient for you to go to "tools">options>Maintenance tab and click on "empty deleted items folder on exiting O.E."?? Be aware however that once you put an E-mail into the deleted folder & then exit with these settings in this way they are gone! No second chances to keep them around for a while!
    Ben
     
  3. Hoboluke

    Hoboluke Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Actually, I use the deleted items folder to keep messages that are most likely useless, but I want to keep may of them "just in case" I might need them again. But every 6 months or so I go through and purge the obviously useless from the ones that someday I might want again. And it is during this cleaning out process that I must tediously delete and and then once again "confirm delete" each message. I suppose I could make a "moldy mail" file, but I was just wondering if anyone had found a switch in the registry which turns off this pop-up message.
     
  4. throoper

    throoper Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Messages:
    5,152
    As far as I know, the final delete confirmation can't be turned off. Benny's suggestion is the best way.

    You really shouldn't store messages in the Default folders (Inbox, Sent Items, Drafts, and Deleted Items). Doing so can result in folder bloat and possible corruption of the DBX files.
    Your idea of a "Moldy Mail" file is the way to go. Same goes for the other default folders.

    Hopefully that will save you some grief down the road.

    T.:)
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/685293