1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Argh! Super Long Memory Test on Boot

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by mrss, Jan 19, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mrss

    mrss Guest Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    722
    It's all McAfee's fault. I tried to install the 2008 suite and got a BSOD. Coincidentally on the reboot, the system now takes 20-30 minutes to test RAM before it boots. . I took out the CMOS battery to see if that would erase any wierd BIOS settings. Tried a different power supply too. No go. When it finally boots, it's OK, . I am currently doing a system restore to get rid of McAfee and into another 30 minute cycle. Using a different PC here.

    It's pretty unwieldy, having to wait 30 minutes to get into the BIOS. It's the Award BIOS and there is no option to skip the memory test. Just one option to skip tests for a faster boot and that's set.

    This did happen six months ago and went away after a day. Maybe it will again. After it went away, I ran Memtest for 24 hours and the RAM passed.

    Any thoughts appreciated.
     
  2. Xaviar

    Xaviar

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    What mobo are you using, and what RAM?
     
  3. brite750

    brite750

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    13,404
    try unplugging all your drives and any pci cards, usb devices, printers etc and boot up, maybe your bios is hanging on something
     
  4. mrss

    mrss Guest Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    722
    Cheap old ECS 848P M/B and two 400 Mhz DDR's from Kingston (2GB). I've got a 256 meg stick too and that still hangs. Hitting ESC does not kill the test either.

    Maybe the BIOS is corrupted. I tried setting the RAM timings to manual and it never finished testing. Cleared the CMOS with the jumper and now waiting to see if it come back.

    Edit: After the CMOS clear, it said CMOS was corrupt and reset the defaults. Now it's booting faster than ever. I think I better buy a new lithium battery.

    Thanks for the feedback. Helps me think.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/673622

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice