1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

"arghhhhhhhh!" [head explodes]

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by soggycrouton, Feb 15, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. soggycrouton

    soggycrouton Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    98
    hello, I am brand new to these forums, and I have been having a problem with my computer (obviously). My problem is that in every somewhat CPU intensive game, it will slow down to an unplayable rate, then speed back up again. this happens about every two minutes and is EXTREMELY annoying. when i say slow down, i basically means stops, because it about 0.2 fps. it will do this for about 20 seconds then return to normal. lately, while the rate of when it happens has not noticeably change, it has started happening in less and less cpu intensive games. for example, it used to not happen in half-life, now it does. I don't think its my 3d card, because it happens in the sims and a certain breakout style game. obviously, I have tried:

    -defrag
    -changing pagefile size
    -checkdisk
    -opening up computer and checking if everything was in order
    -updating drivers

    I have also tried tweaktown forums, but they didn't help. please dont give me obvious answers, they probably wont help. much help would be appreciated, this problem is extremely annoying.

    system specs:

    intel 1.5 ghz
    512 sdram
    geforce 4 ti4200
     
  2. simonkeeps

    simonkeeps It's My Birthday!

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    82
    sounds like some sort of cache problem, someone more
    techncal might know how to improve it.
     
  3. xXTiKiXx

    xXTiKiXx

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    21
    Well, does it happen for any other 3D games, like AVP2, Red-Faction, Himan, etc. ? And since when has it been doing this?
     
  4. xXTiKiXx

    xXTiKiXx

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    21
    And if it IS doing this for half-life, check your WONID Every HL or CSRetail player has one, email it to a rep of Valve ent. They can check it, because some wonid's have been streamed throuhg the net illegally, and are fake. Any server with Adminmod or Cheating-Death, can detect this and try and slow or stop the game. Beause it causes a server to lag.
     
  5. soggycrouton

    soggycrouton Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    98
    no, no , no, you misunderstood, it happens for EVERY game, as long as it requires enough "power". e.g. Morrowind, Half Life, Deus Ex, Splinter Cell Demo, etc. its definitely not a game problem, but a system/hardware problem
     
  6. The_Egg

    The_Egg

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,157
    Could do with more system specs . . .
    Motherboard make/model
    Windows OS
    Soundcard details
    DirectX version
    Hard drive / CD-ROM drive (s)
    PSU (wattage)

    Is DMA enabled for all drives?
    Is the videocard or soundcard sharing IRQ with any other device?

    What other software is running at the time?
    Any of the following: real-time virus scanner, HD/mobo/memory utilities,
    Indexing services (eg. MS Findfast)
    etc etc?

    Please download & run StartUpList and post the result file here.
     
  7. soggycrouton

    soggycrouton Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    98
    uhh.. i'm running XP, i think the sound card is Sound MAX Digital Audio, Detonator drivers (i forget what, but ive tried changing them back and forth so...) 40 gb hard drive. oh, and here is the startup list thingy


    StartupList report, 2/16/2003, 4:02:55 PM
    StartupList version: 1.51
    Started from : C:\Documents and Settings\Jacob\Desktop\StartupList.EXE
    Detected: Windows XP (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    Detected: Internet Explorer v6.00 (6.00.2600.0000)
    * Using default options
    ==================================================

    Running processes:

    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Norton Internet Security\IAMAPP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\spool\DRIVERS\W32X86\3\CMPDPSRV.EXE
    C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\navapw32.exe
    C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\navapsvc.exe
    C:\Program Files\Norton Internet Security\NISUM.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\nvsvc32.exe
    C:\Program Files\Norton Internet Security\NISSERV.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\Documents and Settings\Jacob\Desktop\StartupList.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    Checking Windows NT UserInit:

    [HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon]
    UserInit = C:\WINDOWS\system32\userinit.exe,

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    iamapp = C:\Program Files\Norton Internet Security\IAMAPP.EXE
    CMPDPSRV = C:\WINDOWS\System32\spool\DRIVERS\W32X86\3\CMPDPSRV.EXE
    NAV Agent = C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\navapw32.exe
    NvCplDaemon = RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\System32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
    TkBellExe = "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe" -osboot
    nwiz = nwiz.exe /install

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    AIM = C:\Program Files\AIM95\aim.exe -cnetwait.odl

    --------------------------------------------------


    Enumerating Browser Helper Objects:

    (no name) - C:\Program Files\DAP\DAPIEBar.dll - {0096CC0A-623C-4829-AD9C-19AF0DC9D8FE}
    (no name) - C:\WINDOWS\Downloaded Program Files\ycomp5_0_2_7.dll - {02478D38-C3F9-4efb-9B51-7695ECA05670}
    (no name) - C:\Program Files\Kontiki\bin\bh212112.dll - {029CA12C-89C1-46a7-A3C7-82F2F98635CB}
    (no name) - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 5.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.ocx - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3}
    (no name) - C:\Program Files\NewDotNet\newdotnet4_50.dll - {4A2AACF3-ADF6-11D5-98A9-00E018981B9E}
    (no name) - c:\windows\googletoolbar_en_1.1.68-big.dll - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7}
    (no name) - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll - {BDF3E430-B101-42AD-A544-FADC6B084872}

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Task Scheduler jobs:

    Disk Cleanup.job
    Norton AntiVirus - Scan my computer.job
    Symantec NetDetect.job

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Download Program Files:

    [iPIX ActiveX Control]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLO~1\ipixx.ocx
    CODEBASE = http://www.ipix.com/viewers/ipixx.cab

    [RdxIE Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\Downloaded Program Files\CONFLICT.1\RdxIE.dll
    CODEBASE = http://207.188.7.150/11540341a5419f6ed616/netzip/RdxIE6.cab

    [GSDACtl Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\Downloaded Program Files\gsda.dll
    CODEBASE = http://launch.gamespyarcade.com/software/launch/alaunch.cab

    [{731918D2-517A-47E2-886A-3BC1380C591D}]
    CODEBASE = http://webpdp.gator.com/v3/download/pdpplugin_4094_hd3ptdm.cab

    [{8EDAD21C-3584-4E66-A8AB-EB0E5584767D}]
    CODEBASE = http://toolbar.google.com/data/GoogleActivate.cab

    [InstallShield International Setup Player]
    InProcServer32 = c:\windows\downlo~1\isetup.dll
    CODEBASE = http://www.installengine.com/engine/isetup.cab

    [PreQualifier Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\System32\MotivePreQual.dll
    CODEBASE = http://www.verizon.net/getdsl/system_check/images/MotivePreQual.cab

    [Shockwave Flash Object]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\System32\macromed\flash\Flash.ocx
    CODEBASE = http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab

    [Yahoo! Companion]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\Downloaded Program Files\ycomp5_0_2_7.dll
    CODEBASE = http://us.dl1.yimg.com/download.yahoo.com/dl/toolbar/my/yiebio5_0_2_7.cab

    [InstallCtl Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\Downloaded Program Files\RSInstaller.dll
    CODEBASE = http://download.redswoosh.com/Installer/rsinstaller.cab

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Winsock LSP files:

    NameSpace #4: C:\Program Files\NewDotNet\newdotnet4_50.dll
    Protocol #1: C:\PROGRA~1\NEWDOT~1\NEWDOT~1.DLL
    Protocol #2: C:\PROGRA~1\NEWDOT~1\NEWDOT~1.DLL
    Protocol #8: C:\PROGRA~1\NEWDOT~1\NEWDOT~1.DLL
    Protocol #9: C:\PROGRA~1\NEWDOT~1\NEWDOT~1.DLL

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Windows NT logon/logoff scripts:
    *No scripts set to run*

    Windows NT checkdisk command:
    BootExecute = autocheck autochk *

    Windows NT 'Wininit.ini':
    PendingFileRenameOperations: \??\C:\DOCUME~1\Adrienne\LOCALS~1\Temp\~f51e43.tmp||\??\C:\DOCUME~1\Adrienne\LOCALS~1\Temp\~f51e43.tmp||\??\C:\DOCUME~1\Jacob\LOCALS~1\Temp\~f51e43.tmp|||L

    --------------------------------------------------
    End of report, 5,936 bytes
    Report generated in 0.828 seconds

    Command line options:
    /verbose - to add additional info on each section
    /complete - to include empty sections and unsuspicious data
    /full - to include several rarely-important sections
    /force9x - to include Win9x-only startups even if running on WinNT
    /forcent - to include WinNT-only startups even if running on Win9x
    /forceall - to include all Win9x and WinNT startups, regardless of platform
    /history - to list version history only
     
  8. simonkeeps

    simonkeeps It's My Birthday!

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    82
    Could Norton be slowing your games down?
    I don't really like Norton and wonder if
    some of my past problems weren't Norton
    related. Try deleting it and then try your
    games. It's worth a shot I think.
     
  9. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,926
    First Name:
    Rob
    I would first make sure it's up-to-date and then run a full virus scan. Then wen playing games you can temporaly disable it by right clicking on the the norton system tray icon.
     
  10. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,926
    First Name:
    Rob
    Oh I would also go to downloads.com and download and run Ad-aware 6 to remove to spyware on your system.
     
  11. pronute

    pronute

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,956
    this may be a power suply problem, is your psu output at least 350 w , and allso you have 512 MB memery is that 1 dimm , multible dimms sometimes cause problems with XP.
     
  12. soggycrouton

    soggycrouton Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    98
    pronute: i have no idea what that means but it sounds like a good idea. please explain

    triple6: it is pretty obvious that i would have tried that already. and I have.
     
  13. Byteman

    Byteman Gone but Never Forgotten

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    17,742
    Hi, The spyware you have or had....that I see in just a quick look:
    Gator , NewDotNet , and
    DAP (Not 100% sure of this one)...
    I would at least get SpyBot Search and Destroy....
    See the good link in the first thread in our Security forum here at TSG.

    Try DirectX 9.0 from Windows Update, Microsoft.
    Open GL settings in video card software, if the games use that.
    BIOS settings.....Load Optimal or Highest Performance settings.
    Hope something helps.
     
  14. pronute

    pronute

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,956
    It's simple fast systems need more power in reserve , and the number of dimm's I still havent figured that out yet , however I built the pc I'm using right now using 3 sticks of pc2700 and it exhibited similar symptoms to yours . I removed one module and it performed normal. I have since found out that lot of other "do it your selfers" have had this same problem diferant boards, memory, and, cpu's the only thing in common is XP and the amount of memory slots used
     
  15. soggycrouton

    soggycrouton Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    98
    okay, sorry, but what is a dimm? i did not build this computer, i bought it. the only thing i have done out of the ordinary with the hardware is oc my videocard, but i have returned it to normal

    uhh... i've never even heard of Gator or NewDotNet, but i have DAP... what about it?

    look, this probably isnt a software problem, but i guess i'm open minded. what i really want to do is get someone to come in and look at the computer, but being 14 years old, i dont exactly have a huge say on the matter, and i want to do this only if i'm desperate. how could i find some company that does this? how much does it cost?

    of course, if you have any more useful suggestions, it would be helpful...
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/119042

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice