1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

"arghhhhhhhh!" [head explodes]

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by soggycrouton, Feb 15, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. foxfire

    foxfire Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    313
    Keep at it Soggy Crouton. I really admire your tenacity(& that of your advisers) because I would have put my boot to it long ago-had it been my PC.
    Best wishes & I look forward to reading your ultimate success.

    Foxfire
     
  2. soggycrouton

    soggycrouton Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    98
    :) Oh! Thanks foxfire! I appreciate that! Anyways... I'll get and scan that pic of my computer as soon as possible. The scanner is real good, so they should be quality.
     
  3. soggycrouton

    soggycrouton Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    98
    okay, I got a picture, but unfortunately, my camera ran out of film, so I only got one really low quality one. I but the focus on the wrong adjustment and took it a bit too far away, so it did not comeonut well. I have more film, but I need to reload it, and I'm not sure how. hopefully, I'll be able to post better pics by the end of the day.
     

    Attached Files:

    • scan.jpg
      scan.jpg
      File size:
      141.7 KB
      Views:
      103
  4. soggycrouton

    soggycrouton Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    98
    okay... by the end of the day, I mean never :( . I doubt giving you guys pics will help anyways, because I dont think I actually have any qustions related to that. I'm gonna try unplugging a drive (again). there isnt a possibilty that compaq, like, sodders the cords together or something? and that using pliers (it wont come out, it seems like its the only thing I can do) will damage it? just checking. its hard to tell, but the problem may be getting worse, and I want a temporary fix, because calling compaq, speaking to either a machine or a guy who speaks english badly, explaining what I want, risking buying it for 100, and then the likelyhood that I cant get installed or working... is something I am not looking forward to.
     
  5. pronute

    pronute

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,956
    Okay try to open your mind to this suggestion I recently had a P4 system on my bench my friend wanted me to install a new video card GeForce4. I installed the card and it worked fine until I updated the driver, tried this and that, nothing worked so I uninstalled the Nvidia unified driver from Add and Remove software, then reinstalled the drivers from the disk that came with the card, that worked and is still working. Came to find out that Nvidia's newest unified driver has a conflict with XP. If you do try this make sure you uninstall rather then roll back the driver then reinstall the drivers that came with the card, if the XP drivers did not come with the card go to their sight and download them do not go to the Nvidia sight.
     
  6. pronute

    pronute

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,956
    Oh yea forgot to mention that you have to do this in Safe Mode and don't restart when promted reinstall the driver right after uninstallation.
     
  7. soggycrouton

    soggycrouton Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    98
    Opening mind.......................

    Opened :cool:

    I believe I already tried this. I am currently using the dentonator drivers, but that was after reverting to the default ones did not work. I did not do it in safe mode, however. Will this make a difference?

    Do you know why the dvd cord wont budge? Should I really use pliers(sp).
     
  8. pronute

    pronute

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,956
    Yes safe mode because that will not automatically reinstall the drivers don't reboot because that will reinstall the drivers all the previous drivers must be removed before you install another set. once in safe mode go to Add and remove software and uninstall all Nvidia software when prompted to restart, cancle out, then install the correct drivers.

    As far as removing a stuck Molex connector I rock them side to side while pulling them out and if it's really in there I use needle nose pliers and lever them out using the back upper edge of the drive as the fulcrum point.
     
  9. soggycrouton

    soggycrouton Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    98
    What I did was uninstall the drivers restart the computer, and the drivers were not on there, so I installed the normal ones. It seemed to install them properly.

    I will try the pliers idea also, I guess. Just wanted o make sure there was no risk.
     
  10. soggycrouton

    soggycrouton Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    98
    :mad: disconnecting the DVD drive's cord did not affect the problem. the problem continues to happen about every 30 seconds, for about 10 seconds. shouldnt removing the DVD cord have helped if it was a psu problem? what does this mean?!? what should I do!?!
     
  11. pronute

    pronute

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,956
    was there a problem with the DVD drive why unplug it?
     
  12. zeddy

    zeddy

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    2,612
    At the risk of repeating earlier advice (too many posts to go through!) Have you tried:

    Click on

    Start>control panel>performance and maintainance>system>hardware>device manager>view>hidden devices

    Are there any hidden devices that have a yellow mark against them?
     
  13. soggycrouton

    soggycrouton Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    98
    didnt someone advise me to disconnect stuff? wouldnt it help, because the power suppy would not need to give power to what I disconnected? guess not :(

    sorry, my bad then. I will try what zeddy said, even I dont know if I've done that before, I've been at this so long :(

    should I call compaq (the number th e-mail gave me)? what else should I try?
     
  14. soggycrouton

    soggycrouton Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    98
    I tried that, and two devices had the yellow mark:

    Family Room -> Keyboards -> Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural PS/2 Keyboard

    Family Room -> Non-Plug and Play Drivers -> Powertweak NT Helper

    What does this mean?
     
  15. zeddy

    zeddy

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    2,612
    Delete those devices and see if on reboot windows picks up the relevant drivers.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/119042

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice