ARRAY DETECTING...problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Luka

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 2, 2011
Messages
10
I just recently installed windows xp on my cpu (again)...i'm using 2 hard drives
one is SATA (here i installed windows) and secondary which is IDE (im using it for my personal stuff,important files)
I installed windows on my SATA without the secondary IDE being plugged, i was just pre cautious..
and when windows were done with installing....i turn off the computer plug the IDE one back..
it wont boot to windows...just stuck at the screen ''array detecting''
but when i unplug the IDE ..it will go normally to windows with this SATA...its just happening when my other IDE is plugged...why?....is the drive dead? i really hope not i got very important data here.
i checked the power cables...i got 5 of em...plugged every one in the drive...nothing changed.im really scared about the drive.
if anybody can help me with this problem.
it'll be very appreciated..
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
42,040
i got very important data here
First of all, data you do not backup is data you do not care about. If the files are important to you, you back them up. End of story.

Next many mb default to an ide drive as the boot drive in the bios. With both drives plugged in and pw connectors plugged in, pw ON and enter the bios. Check the HD priority or which drive is listed as the boot drive. Make sure it is the sata drive and not the ide. Save settings and restart.
 

Luka

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 2, 2011
Messages
10
But why this happened now, i never had problems with this before..
its started now when i installed the windows again, yes i was planning to back up data next week, i already bought a new HDD but i wasnt home..these days...
one more thing..i checked the bios...clicked on detect drives...it seems bios wont detect my 2nd IDE HDD.
 

Luka

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 2, 2011
Messages
10
yes..
first boot device is hard drive
second CD rom
3rd 4th...disabled

i dont got any jumper in my IDE HDD..i've been told..its alright if its not in...its automatically ''slave''
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
42,040
You are confusing boot device ie hard drive, CD, Floppy with hard disk priority.

Next unless there is something else on the ide cable, you would not really want the hard drive as a slave. Modern ide cables are color coded ie black, blue, and gray. Blue to mb, black to master device and gray to slave. Set the jumper on the drive correctly and connect to the corresponding connector.

Next if the bios does not detect the drive after you have done the above, there is a very good chance it has failed.

It would also help if you posted your exact system specs ie make and model of mb, brand and wattage of pw supply, exact cpu, etc, etc.
 

Luka

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 2, 2011
Messages
10
uuuuuuhm...the ide cable is ''grey''

according to everest sotfware i got:

Field Value
Motherboard Properties
Motherboard ID 01/15/2005-NF-CK804-6A61FFKBC-00
Motherboard Name Unknown

Front Side Bus Properties
Bus Type AMD Hammer
Real Clock 200 MHz
Effective Clock 200 MHz
HyperTransport Clock 800 MHz

Memory Bus Properties
Bus Type DDR SDRAM
Bus Width 64-bit
Real Clock 201 MHz (DDR)
Effective Clock 402 MHz
Bandwidth 3214 MB/s

Field Value
BIOS Properties
BIOS Type Award
Award BIOS Type Phoenix - AwardBIOS v6.00PG
Award BIOS Message nVIDIA NF4 Series 4ADW1P14 011505
System BIOS Date 01/15/05
Video BIOS Date 11/09/04

BIOS Manufacturer
Company Name Phoenix Technologies Ltd.
Product Information http://www.phoenix.com/en/products/default.htm
BIOS Upgrades http://www.esupport.com/biosagent/index.cfm?refererid=40

Problems & Suggestions
Suggestion Are you looking for a BIOS Upgrade? Contact eSupport Today!
Suggestion System BIOS is more than 2 years old. Update it if necessary.
Suggestion Video BIOS is more than 2 years old. Update it if necessary.

Field Value
Sensor Properties
Sensor Type ITE IT8712F (ISA 290h)
GPU Sensor Type National LM89 (NV-I2C 4Ch)

Temperatures
Motherboard 38 °C (100 °F)
CPU 29 °C (84 °F)
Aux 28 °C (82 °F)
GPU 51 °C (124 °F)
GPU Ambient 34 °C (93 °F)
Seagate ST3160023AS 42 °C (108 °F)

Cooling Fans
CPU 3309 RPM

Voltage Values
CPU Core 1.49 V
+2.5 V 1.44 V
+3.3 V 3.26 V
+5 V 4.97 V
+12 V 11.46 V
+5 V Standby 5.00 V
VBAT Battery 3.02 V
Debug Info F 33 FF FF
Debug Info T 28 38 29
Debug Info V 5D 5A CC B9 B3 49 9F (77)
Field Value
CPU Properties
CPU Type AMD Sempron 2800+
CPU Alias Winchester-256 S754
CPU Stepping DH-D0
CPUID CPU Name AMD Sempron(tm) Processor 2800+
CPUID Revision 00010FC0h

CPU Speed
CPU Clock 1607.22 MHz
CPU Multiplier 8.0x
CPU FSB 200.90 MHz (original: 200 MHz)
Memory Bus 200.90 MHz

CPU Cache
L1 Code Cache 64 KB (Parity)
L1 Data Cache 64 KB (ECC)
L2 Cache 256 KB (On-Die, ECC, Full-Speed)

Motherboard Properties
Motherboard ID 01/15/2005-NF-CK804-6A61FFKBC-00
Motherboard Name Unknown

Chipset Properties
Motherboard Chipset nVIDIA nForce4, AMD Hammer
Memory Timings 3-4-4-8 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS)
Command Rate (CR) 2T

SPD Memory Modules
DIMM1: A-DATA 1 GB PC3200 DDR SDRAM (3.0-4-4-8 @ 200 MHz) (2.5-4-4-7 @ 166 MHz)

BIOS Properties
System BIOS Date 01/15/05
Video BIOS Date 11/09/04
Award BIOS Type Phoenix - AwardBIOS v6.00PG
Award BIOS Message nVIDIA NF4 Series 4ADW1P14 011505
DMI BIOS Version 6.00 PG

Graphics Processor Properties
Video Adapter nVIDIA GeForce 6800 PCI-E
GPU Code Name NV41 (PCI Express x16 10DE / 00C1, Rev A2)
GPU Clock 324 MHz
Memory Clock 299 MHz

Field Value
Computer
Operating System Microsoft Windows XP Professional
OS Service Pack Service Pack 3
DirectX 4.09.00.0904 (DirectX 9.0c)
Computer Name GRIMEE-1C04FD97
User Name Grimee

Motherboard
CPU Type AMD Sempron, 1600 MHz (8 x 200) 2800+
Motherboard Name Unknown
Motherboard Chipset nVIDIA nForce4, AMD Hammer
System Memory 1024 MB (PC3200 DDR SDRAM)
BIOS Type Award (01/15/05)
Communication Port Communications Port (COM1)
Communication Port Printer Port (LPT1)

Display
Video Adapter nVIDIA GeForce 6800 PCI-E
3D Accelerator nVIDIA GeForce 6800 PCI-E

Multimedia
Audio Adapter nVIDIA MCP04 - Audio Codec Interface

Storage
IDE Controller Standard Dual Channel PCI IDE Controller
IDE Controller Standard Dual Channel PCI IDE Controller
IDE Controller Standard Dual Channel PCI IDE Controller
Floppy Drive Floppy disk drive
Disk Drive Foxconn SM USB2.0 Reade USB Device
Disk Drive Foxconn CF USB2.0 Reade USB Device
Disk Drive WDC WD16 00JB-00REA0 USB Device (149 GB, USB)
Disk Drive ST3160023AS (160 GB, 7200 RPM, SATA)
Disk Drive Foxconn SD USB2.0 Reade USB Device
Disk Drive Foxconn MS USB2.0 Reade USB Device
SMART Hard Disks Status OK

Partitions
C: (NTFS) 152617 MB (149007 MB free)
D: (NTFS) 152624 MB (3969 MB free)
Total Size 298.1 GB (149.4 GB free)

Input
Keyboard Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural PS/2 Keyboard
Mouse HID-compliant mouse

Network
Network Adapter Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethernet NIC (192.168.1.2)

Peripherals
USB1 Controller nVIDIA MCP04 - OHCI USB Controller
USB2 Controller nVIDIA MCP04 - EHCI USB 2.0 Controller
USB Device USB Human Interface Device
USB Device USB Mass Storage Device
USB Device USB Mass Storage Device

Problems & Suggestions
Problem Disk free space is only 3% on drive D:.


that helps?
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
42,040
If it is just gray, that is an old 40pin 40wire cable and is not made for modern hard disks. You need the 40pin 80wire one ie blue, black, and gray.

Next I see a REAL problem. Your 12V is reading <11.5V. This will cause problems. Check your voltages in the bios. If it still reads that low, I would be replacing the pw supply.

FWIW I do not use those software apps for checking hardware. Nothing beats a look with the Mark I eyeball; ie open the case and look.
 

Luka

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 2, 2011
Messages
10
ok thanks a lot....i'll do that..but what exactly i need too look...im not expert at computers really..
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
42,040
The mb [make and model should be written on the board itself] pw supply [should be a label on the unit]

Make sure you check your 12V in the bios. If it still reads <11.5V, you have a problem.
 

Luka

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 2, 2011
Messages
10
okay...i'll do that know...let me see what it says on board and bios.
 

Luka

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 2, 2011
Messages
10
in bios i chosed ''Pc health status (o.t.s.)

there was:

+12V 11.45 V is that it?

and on the motherboard it says ''winfast''
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
42,040
From what I recall, winfast boards were mfg by ecs [read very cheap]
Yes that is the correct reading and it is too low. This will cause problems.

With that old of a system and the low 12V reading, I would advise you not to put any money into fixing this system. Unless you can fix it by installing a jumper and the proper cable, I would NOT put any more money into it.
 

Luka

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 2, 2011
Messages
10
yeah you're right, my HDD IDE its all im concerned about right now...should i plug it on the other computer or something? to see what pops up?
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
42,040
Sure connect it either as an internal drive or use a usb type enclosure.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top