1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Aspire UD 440N with no video

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by muckmail, Nov 4, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. muckmail

    muckmail Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    962
    I have an Acer Aspire ASE380 UD 440N with no video output. Where do I begin to trouble
    shoot this machine. I does not have a hard drive install but If it was working properly
    I would think I would be able to get to BIO's
    Thank you,
     
  2. Oddba11

    Oddba11 It's My Birthday!

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7,928
    First Name:
    Jim
    Disconnect/remove everything except the motherboard w/cpu and the power supply. Boot and see what happens. You should get BEEP/ERROR codes for missing RAM. If not, you have a motherboard/cpu/power supply issue. If you do, then install the RAM and try again.
     
  3. muckmail

    muckmail Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    962
    Ok,
    I removed the ram form the motherboard and power the computer. I get one continous
    beep. Now what should I do?
    Thank
     
  4. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    13,170
    First Name:
    Allan
    Shine a flashlight on the screen and look carefully, is there a display ?
     
  5. muckmail

    muckmail Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    962
    I do not see a display with a flashlight shined in it but I am unsure what I am looking for.
    Screen appears black.
    The fans on the motherboard turn on.
    When I push the power button on the outer case to turn the the machine off it does not go off.
    So it maybe the power supply, motherboard or CPU?
    The continous beep is still there.
    Thank you,
     
  6. muckmail

    muckmail Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    962
    I have notice that a heat sink on the CPU is very dirty. If I cleaned it and reseat the processor.
    Would that help?
    Thank you,
     
  7. Oddba11

    Oddba11 It's My Birthday!

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7,928
    First Name:
    Jim
    Yes the cpu heatsink/fan should be cleaned. Don't remove/reseat it.

    Continuious beep should be an indication of missing RAM. So, as noted above, reinstall the RAM and test again. Is it onboard video or a video card?
     
  8. muckmail

    muckmail Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    962
    It is on board video. Earlier I tryed putting a extra video card in a slot. That did not work
    so I removed the video card.

    I put both ram sticks back into the slots and I turned it on and there was no beeps.
    I noticed that the CPU and cabinet fans came on.

    How do I continue my trouble shooting process?

    Thank you,
     
  9. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    13,170
    First Name:
    Allan
    I was thinking it was a laptop but even if it's a desktop sometimes the screen's back-light can fail but shining a flash-light at the screen can reveal a faint display.

    Try resetting the Cmos by removing the coin shaped battery and/or moving the jumper.
     
  10. muckmail

    muckmail Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    962
    I removed the coin shaped battery and did not notice any change.
    I put the battery back in the mother board and did not see any changes.
    still no video.
    What should be my next step?
    Oh yes, it has on board video. It is a desktop.
    Thank you,
     
  11. muckmail

    muckmail Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    962
    I may have an extra power supply I could use for testing.
    I might also have a processor I could use for testing.
    Thank you,
     
  12. muckmail

    muckmail Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    962
    I found some numbers on the motherboard.
    They are N1996, 02010FM00-499-G and 001D92991BC1
    Does acer have custom motherboards. I did not see a motherboard manufactures
    name on the board.
    Thank you,
     
  13. Oddba11

    Oddba11 It's My Birthday!

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7,928
    First Name:
    Jim
    02010FM00-499-G appears to be a Gateway motherboard part number
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1025418

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice