1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Asrock Z390 Extreme PCI2 slot not working

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by jimmysayzhi, Jan 16, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jimmysayzhi

    jimmysayzhi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Put together my new pc this week and found that my RTX 2070 GPU doesn't work on the PCIE2 slot. When I plug in the hdmi cable there is no display on my monitor. When I connect the hdmi directly to the motherboard and boot it the pc doesn't detect that the graphics card. The when the card is plugged, the fans and lights are working but the display isn't working.

    I also tested the port with my old GTX 970 card and it also doesn't work. When I tried installing the cards on the PCIE4 slot it works fine. I have tried everything I can think of to fix this issue. Reinstalled windows 10 multiple times, downloaded the NVidia driver, updated the BIOs, made sure BIOs primary graphics adapter was set to PCI Express, used DDU to remove other drivers on the PC, checked the pins of the CPU for bents, sprayed compressed air into the PCIe slots, reset CMOS. Nothing has fixed the issue.

    Is there anything else I could try to fix the PCIE2 slot on the motherboard?

    BUILD:

    Intel - Core i9-9900K 3.6 GHz 8-Core Processor

    Cooler Master - MasterLiquid ML360R RGB 66.7 CFM Liquid CPU Cooler

    ASRock - Z390 Extreme4 ATX LGA1151 Motherboard

    G.Skill - Ripjaws V Series 32 GB (2 x 16 GB) DDR4-3200 Memory

    Samsung - 970 Evo 500 GB M.2-2280 Solid State Drive x 2

    Gigabyte - GeForce RTX 2070 8 GB WINDFORCE Video Card

    EVGA - SuperNOVA G3 750 W 80+ Gold Certified Fully-Modular ATX Power Supply

    Lian-Li - LANCOOL ONE DIGITAL ATX Mid Tower Case
     
  2. tecknurd

    tecknurd

    Joined:
    May 28, 2018
    Messages:
    154
    The CPU that you have doesn't have pins. The pins are on the motherboard.

    Remove motherboard from computer case and place on the motherboard box. Do your testing there.

    Disable BIOS backup

    Remove M.2 and boot with the graphics card.

    Disable Secure Boot and reboot with the graphics card installed.

    Disable multi-monitor support for the Intel graphics and reboot.

    Try another slot.

    Change PCIe Link Speed.

    Have you hooked a speaker to the speaker terminals on the motherboard. What are the beep codes?

    If nothing helps, good luck working with ASRock questionable warranty to get a replacement.
     
  3. DavisMcCarn

    DavisMcCarn

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,157
    Most of the PCIE secondary graphics slots are really PCIE X8 whereas the first slot is a true PCIE X16. They are really meant to be used by a second graphics card setup with an SLI cable between them. Do you have any PCIE x1 or x4 cards you can try in that slot?
     
  4. lynx1021

    lynx1021

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,343
    Have you tried changing the settings in the Bios advanced , Primary advanced to one of the other options? What about the PCIE2 link speed? I remember one older motherboard you had to set it for VGA to get the PCIE express slot to work (was it backwards??). I would defiantly contact Asrock , only other thing I found was a suggestion to reseat the CPU.
     
  5. jimmysayzhi

    jimmysayzhi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Tried reseating the CPU already. Also played with the BIOs setting switching the PCIE2 links and primary graphics adapter with no luck. I only have the RTX 2070 and my old GTX 970 cards to test with. Both worked on the PCIE4 slot but not the PCIE2 slot.
     
  6. jimmysayzhi

    jimmysayzhi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Here's how my system looks. The graphics card is spinning and lit but I'm not getting that display
     

    Attached Files:

  7. lynx1021

    lynx1021

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,343
    I guess you checked under the board to make sure there is no extra standoff touching? That's why Tecknerd said "Remove motherboard from computer case and place on the motherboard box. Do your testing there". May have to RMA if it is still in warranty. The PCIE 4 only runs at X8 so you are not getting what you paid for.
     
  8. tecknurd

    tecknurd

    Joined:
    May 28, 2018
    Messages:
    154
    You are not troubleshooting correctly. The motherboard manual is misleading and it has no diagram how the PCIe slots and M.2 are wired. Please do the steps that I posted instead of ignoring them. For starters the M.2 device that you are using requires PCIe lanes, so the motherboard could be disabling the first PCIe x16 slot.

    For many years, PCIe x8 doesn't slow down graphics cards. It is already been tested many times. Sure if you want to say that it penalizes up to 5 fps. That is not enough to say it penalizes. The tolerance for benchmark error is around 5 to 10 fps.
     
  9. jimmysayzhi

    jimmysayzhi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Sorry for the late response. In the process of testing the motherboard after taking my rig apart. Also never attached any speakers yet to the rig and the only beep I hear is when I shut down the pc.

    I know that fixing the PCIe2 port isn't gona be much a diff in performance. Its more for peace of mind that every time I boot up my comp I know I'm not settling for a new defective motherboard.
     
  10. jimmysayzhi

    jimmysayzhi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    ok tried running just the motherboard on the motherboard box with just the cpu, one ram stick and graphics card installed. No change when going through the checklist. Also IGPU mulit-monitor and secure boot were disabled on default. Tried turning them on, rebooting then turning them off. Set the PCIe2 link speed to gen 1,2,3, auto. Nothing.

    Using the PCIe4 slot still gives me a display in this state.
     

    Attached Files:

    • min.jpg
      min.jpg
      File size:
      27.6 KB
      Views:
      6
  11. DavisMcCarn

    DavisMcCarn

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,157
    As a note to everyone, you are naming PCIe4 as the physical slot number printed on the board with PCIe1 being closest to the edge of the board and PCIe4 being closest to the CPU.
     
  12. tecknurd

    tecknurd

    Joined:
    May 28, 2018
    Messages:
    154
    Disable Thunderbolt in the BIOS and then boot with graphics card in PCIE2. Enable default BIOS profile. I hope you turn off your computer before moving the card to the PCIE2 slot in process of troubleshooting.

    When I said speaker, I mean the speaker be attached to the speaker header on the motherboard. You don't have this attached. Unfortunately, you have to enable beep codes in the BIOS. The beep could be coming from the power supply. I have a power supply that beeps when the computer is about to turn off. The following is an example of a motherboard speaker.
    Code:
    https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812201032
    
    If the first PCIe X16 slot (PCIE2) doesn't work contact ASRock for further help.

    This motherboard in questioned can accept X16 cards in all slots. Not all motherboards can do this. The add-on PCIe X2 or larger cards have to support X1. Please download the manual if you are confused.
     
  13. jimmysayzhi

    jimmysayzhi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    I always make sure my power is off when moving stuff around. Thunderbolt was disabled by default so that wasn't it either.
     
  14. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,354
    First Name:
    Allan
    Just to confirm, you are naming the PCIE2 slot as shown below ? :-

    z370.jpg
     
  15. jimmysayzhi

    jimmysayzhi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Yep.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1221984

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice