1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Assembly language on windows pls help

Discussion in 'Software Development' started by acedar, Sep 3, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. acedar

acedar Thread Starter

Hello,
    I am an old z80 programmer and i wish to write a game in assembly language under windows. But i do not know when to begin. it is difficult to find some help on it.
    I will be gratefull if someone can help me. I need an example (commented souirce code will be the best). For example a little cat (like diko) that walks on the desktop. Analizying such code will teach me everything i need (this means: movement and transparency on the windows desktop, method on how to make an windows executable, addressing the desktop...).
    Please help. i have great ideas. i want to make some freeware games for the desktop. Small and fast.
    Unfortunatelly i do not know any other language except Quick Basic (too basic for this), turbo pascal (too big files after compiling) and assembly.

Thank you in advance for any help on how to do this.
    --
    . __ _ _
    .|\ / |_ | \ |\ |_\
    .| \ \ |__ |_/ | \ | \

2. Chicon

Chicon

Hi acedar,

A very long time ago, I wrote Z80 programs for the Sinclair ZX81. At this moment, I had the bible of Z80 (Rodnay Zachs, if my memory is good).
    Now, if you want to write assembly x86 based codes, you have just to forget the old mnemonic. You' ll understand when you see the tutorial at this site :
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/X86_assembly_language
    I found out a site from where you can download an emulator to learn the x86 assembly : http://www.programfiles.com/Default.asp?LinkId=19728
    Just have a look, it seems interesting and good luck !

3. acedar

acedar Thread Starter

Thank you Chicon.