Assistance appreciated

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Hanibal

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 4, 2001
Messages
41
Hi
i am a technician with a gaming company. i had a client call me with a problem installing one of our games(Sudden Strike)

Problem: during the installation process, he gets an I/O error about the file sound.rus being corrupted.


Attempted fixes: everything that i can think of. from installing from the HD to disabeling certain devices while installing. to upgrading the OS, he even went as far as reformating and reinstalling the OS.

now he brought a functionnal game from another source and it gave the same error. the game will not install. and he tried installing other software on his system and they al worked fine.

i am sure i forgot to mention some of the tips i suggested to him. any insight into this will be greatly appreciated.


cheers
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,298
Hiya

This error that he gets: Is it possible for him to give you the full error? Just I/O isn't much, also what is sound.rus? can't find that, or even know what the extension is.

Also, what is his OS. I assume its just with this one game.

Regards

eddie
 

Hanibal

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 4, 2001
Messages
41
hi Eddie

his system specs are the following sorry skiped my mind to list them


AMD 1.1ghz
128 RAM
gforce2 32 mb
Win98(SE)
Directx8

the exact error is:

i/o error accured while installing a file. this is normally caused by bad installation media or a corrupt installation file. (this error happens while installing this sound.rus file)


Cheers
 

Hanibal

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 4, 2001
Messages
41
Hiya Eddie


he did a reformat to his system. total wipe out. if any viruses where present they are gone with the total reformat of his hard drive
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,298
So, he's done a format and its still happening. Has he got Norton or has he tried it in SafeMode?

Okay, this may be a hardware problem. Not my strong point, but I'll have a go.

Go to Run and type MSINFO32
On the left choose Hardware Resources, then I/O. Is there any in there that is not OK? It should say next to it OK.

You can copy/paste if you're unsure.

eddie
 

Hanibal

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 4, 2001
Messages
41
he did as i told him. under msinfo32 all I/O status says OK.

any other suggestions?

cheers
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,298
Hiya

Its this sound.rus that gets me wondering. Is this the same error both times? If so, I have managed to find something on it, but its in Russian :(

It was also for the same game.

I'll start translating. Back in a while. It may be nothing, but.....

eddie
 

Hanibal

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 4, 2001
Messages
41
hi Eddie

ya it is the same. and thx sadly i don't speak russian :)

ya it installs. gets to a certain point. then bam error mesage.

this is real puzzling. he is attempting now to disable all his multimedia devices maybe it will do the trick

cheers
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,298
Hiya

Just about to make my dinner but thought I'd tell you about the info I got. Not a lot can be read from it. If you want a pointless read, I'll post it at the end.

Well, it could be pointing to the sound card. Has he tried installing it on a friends PC to see if the problem happens?

His card, gforce2 32 mb. What is the actual name? These are the versions.

2 Ultra
TI/Pro/GTS
MX
Go
256

Is this it? LeadTek WinFast GeForce2 GTS 32MB

Anyway, here is the translation... :p

And more in detail it is possible as well as what? I have pulled out from äåìêè all sound. *,Has replaced, but Anything acceptable has failed, Continuous rumble. Can still what files are necessary Were? Or äåìêè at us different different.


Çàìíÿþòñÿ two files - sound.rus And some more any sound.hdr - Precisely I do not remember, On a forum ðóññîüèòîâñêîì look.


As you see, not much.

eddie
 

Hanibal

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 4, 2001
Messages
41
thx Eddie

enjoy your launch man :) i will probably get in touch with him on monday.

hopefully this gets resolved.

1) i am getting frustrated. this does not make sence
2) he is getting frustrated



cheers
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top