1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

ASUS A43S WIFI Can't Connect to Wifi

Discussion in 'Networking' started by dnmaru, Jun 23, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dnmaru

    dnmaru Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    I am totally disappointed with Asus. The problem remains unresolved after almost more than 2 years.

    I hv tried all the methods mentioned at :

    http://support.asus.com/Troubleshoo...en&p=3&m=A43SD&s=310&hashedid=n/a&os=&no=1773

    I really regret why I purchased Asus at first place. The experience has been so much frustrating and waste of money, time and energy.

    DEAR ASUS YOU SHOULD NOT BE MAKING/ SELLING A PRODUCT OF SUCH AN INFERIOR QUALITY".

    TOTALLY RIDICULOUS & DISGUSTING.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,856
    First Name:
    Wayne
    do you have a hardware question at all
    or is this just a vent post
    if so , then I will remove the post from the forum as this is for hardware questions, perhaps writing to ASUS or the company you purchased from and if you have a valid complaint then the trading standards organisation in your country
    not here
     
  3. dnmaru

    dnmaru Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Dear Etaf

    Thanks for your reply.

    I have tried to fix the problem with my hardware but in vain. I searched various forums/ sites for the solution, but could not find correct fix. There are many others who have had similar problem.

    I am not sure if you can help me to find one. So frustrated.

    In a way, this is a vent for my frustration/ complaint. I apologize if this is not the correct forum. Pls act as necessary.

    Regards
     
  4. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,827
    First Name:
    Rob
    Ok, but what is the actual problem you are having? You must tell us what the problem is and include details of the problems.
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,856
    First Name:
    Wayne
    did you want to try - it maybe a hardware issue as you say, also we will repeat a lot of stuff you have already done - so if you are interested follow the below

    if not - then I will close and remove as this is not the correct place for a frustrated vent

    Exact description of the Symptoms, will it connect to public wifi. like coffee shops , libraries etc

    then heres a few things to try
    post an ipconfig /all
    post an xirrus screen shot
    make and model of the router you are connecting to > do other devices connect wirelessly all OK

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all

    We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply
    Note: you will see entries named Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface: we dont need to see that information - JUST the infomation above those entries

    For Windows 8
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop.
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/open-an-elevated-command-prompt-in-windows-8/
    Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.​

    For windows version, XP, Vista, W7
    Hold the Windows key and press R

    Now type CMD

    Now press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):​

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and install the program.
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply

    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    ( the site now appears to require a business email, and does not allow webbased emails like gmail,hotmail or yahoo etc )

    Use the links below

    http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html
    http://www.softpedia.com/progDownload/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-Monitor-Download-99109.html

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You will need to have NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.
    On windows 8 - (i do not have windows 8) but, it would appear that, When you first try to run, you may get a message that .net framework is needed, and included in that message is a link to download/install.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here
    http://www.xirrus.com/cdn/pdf/xirruswifiinspectorguide1-2-0

    post a screen shot of the program running.
    if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information.

    post which SSID name is yours, its located in the list, under network "Adapter Name" (1st column)


    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better. "A desirable signal level for a robust Wi-Fi connection will be green".
    note: the signal level is a negative number, so for example -88 is worst and -40 is better

    To post a screen shot of the active window.

    Windows XP
    Hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.

    Vista or Windows 7
    you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/how-to-use-the-windows-snipping-tool/

    Windows 8
    you can use the snipping tool > Open Snipping Tool (From the Windows 8 Start Screen, type "snip" and press enter.
    >Press the Esc. key.
    >go back to your Windows 8 start screen - Swipe from left or press Window Button
    >Press Ctrl+PrntScr button to use Snipping Tool
    see here
    http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/opinion/windows/3415854/how-take-screenshot-in-windows-8/
    http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/how-to/windows/3405830/how-take-screenshot-in-windows-8/


    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot
     
  6. dnmaru

    dnmaru Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Dear Friends

    Thanks for your reply. I really appreciate.

    Summary : I purchased Asus A43SJ and having problem with WIFI. The wifi is just not getting connected. I took the machine to the vendor, to resolve, he reinstalled windows and drivers. It worked for a while (a day) and again stopped working. I have tried reinstalling all the recommende drivers again - but in vain. From google search it seems that this problem is also faced by many others for A43S series.

    I will come back to you tomorrow after trying what have you recommended above.

    Thanks again.
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,856
    First Name:
    Wayne
    OK
    For reference the drivers are here for W7 32 & 64bit
    http://support.asus.com/download.aspx?SLanguage=en&p=3&s=310&m=A43SJ&os=&hashedid=6DRHXvvfFhPrNCw2

    what windows version

    also maybe worth a try
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Try reseating the wireless adapter

    If the adapter is easily accessible, usually through a cover on the bottom of the laptop.
    Remove and reinsert carefully and firmly several times to cure any possible looseness or corrosion.
    At the same time check to make sure the antenna leads are securely attached.
    Note: This is not taking the machine apart. We do not recommend removing the keyboard when that is necessary to find the wireless.

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  8. dnmaru

    dnmaru Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks again ...

    Windows 7 64 Bit.

    To answer your earlier questions :

    It does not connect any where (coffeshops/ public/ home).

    On other things I will come back to you maximum tomorrow.

    Regards
     
  9. dnmaru

    dnmaru Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    Result
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : ASUS-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 74-2F-68-B1-A8-8D
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 3:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 16-2F-68-B1-3F-AB
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR9002WB-1NG Wireless Network Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 74-2F-68-B1-3F-AB
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 14-DA-E9-64-C6-4C
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{E754839E-454C-47C2-B245-315F27E15CDB}:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{DBABC933-B050-4088-9A86-ED42D3947C02}:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{97835E65-5A6B-4C97-ACCE-BBA4BA1E94CB}:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{5CA09356-176B-4846-BAEE-724B8DFF4B9A}:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #4
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,856
    First Name:
    Wayne
    i would download and install this driver
    http://www.atheros.cz/atheros-wireless-download.php?chipset=31&system=6
    You only need to click on the green download button labelled " Click to Download " and wait, the file will download - you do not need to click on any other buttons to get the download started

    extract the zip folder onto your PC somewhere
    download etc

    > Start Globe
    > Control Panel
    > System and maintenance
    > Scroll down to Device manager
    > network adaptors, click on the + >
    > Right click on the AR9002WB Adapter
    > click on Update Driver Software...
    > click on Browse my computer for driver software
    > let me pick from a list of device drivers on my computer
    > Have Disk
    > click on the Button Browse...
    > Locate the folder you extracted the zip folder and highlight the .inf file
    you should see two files with .inf
    W7 32Bit netathr.inf
    W7 64Bit netathrx.inf
    USE
    netathrx.inf
     
  11. dnmaru

    dnmaru Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    I installed (updated) driver as instructed. It worked for a while at my house wifi. It is not working again now in the office. Do i need to uninstall the old driver and do the steps as mentioned? (I dont think from the instructions as it say Update Driver Software.
     
  12. dnmaru

    dnmaru Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Not yet tried
    Try reseating the wireless adapter
    Run Xirrus
     
  13. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,856
    First Name:
    Wayne
    is it still working at your house OK
    how is the office setup - is this a company wifi

    lets see xirrus next
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1128311

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice