1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Asus A7N8X Deluxe Mobo Problem - please help :)

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by nburcomb, Apr 26, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. nburcomb

nburcomb Thread Starter

Hi there,

I'm basically a novice to building a PC, but I thought I'd have a go.
    I've got an Athlon 2800 XP Barton core processor and the A7N8X Deluxe motherboard.
    The mobo was bought cheap off ebay and sold as "new bios chip installed - untested"
    and I thought I'd take a gamble at £35. I've installed the processor and a 1Gb of memory
    and plumbed in the 9800Pro graphics card and when I fire it up - there is a long very high piteched
    beep. It says in the instructions that this mean that the processor is too hot and it's in a safe mode.

I ran Sandra 2004 on it and it warned me that the CPU was running at 1300mhz (about half) but also
    that the CPU fan was down to 900rpm. It further informed me that the mobo voltage was too high.

Does this seem to be the root of the problem and can I change it in the Bios? I'm not sure about changing bios
    settings - as I say - I'm a novice, but can anyone advise where to find out the information for this or indeed
    what the solution is.

Thanks for your time

Nick

2. brite750

brite750

Doesn't sound like your gamble paid off. If someone on TSG doesn't come up with some really good suggestions, if it was me I would go buy a new mobo, and write this off to experience. The mobo is the heart of your system, if you go cheapy on it you take your chances. Another problem is mobo problems can be hard to diagnose for home users. You could try taking it to a shop to test the board maybe, other than that, that mobo seems highly suspect.

3. nburcomb

nburcomb Thread Starter