Solved Asus desktop Computer always boots into BIOS first

Joined
Mar 30, 2014
Messages
4,235
There is no drive listed under SATA other than your Optical Drive (CD/DVD drive).

What that means is your BIOS cannot find an attached hard drive (or SSD) to boot from. If you do have one, it is either missing, disconnected somehow or it has died and needs to be replaced and an Operating System (such as Windows) will need to be installed.
 

taxihuyenbi

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 25, 2020
Messages
17
the point is the missing of the HDD is not permanent but only at the first turning on of pc. from that BIOS screen, I just pushed the Reset button (10 minutes ago) and Windows 10 starts normally that means the BIOS has found the HDD. it's not a big deal but I don't know why the POST process was unable to find the HDD first but then it would find it with the Reset button! this is so weird!
 

Gr3iz

Mark
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
108,109
Hello and welcome to TSG!!

Possibly the HDD is starting to go south and is taking a long time to come ready. By the time you press the reset button, the drive is ready to boot.
 

taxihuyenbi

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 25, 2020
Messages
17
As far as I known, when I shut the PC down for 1 hour, the electricity power will be cut off totally from the motherboard, when I press the power button to turn the pc on, the BIOS will runs the POST process:

https://whatis.techtarget.com/definition/POST-Power-On-Self-Test

and it always fails to find the HDD to boot so it goes to BIOS like that. But at that moment, when I press the Reset button

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Reset_button

windows would start normally!

So the point here is: why the first POST fails? Something is wrong with that first scan?
 

Gr3iz

Mark
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
108,109
Have you another HDD or SSD you could use to experiment with? I suspect yours may be going bad, as I said above ...
 

taxihuyenbi

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 25, 2020
Messages
17
the HDD is new. it's a 500 GB Seagate. I bought it 2 weeks ago. all drivers are up-to-date. I installed windows 10 home from a DVD
 

Attachments

taxihuyenbi

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 25, 2020
Messages
17
I only have 1 HDD and 1 DVD ROM installed in the pc and the HDD is new. When I press the power button, the BIOS comes up and always lists the DVD ROM and not the HDD, I press the Reset button then this time the BIOS will find the HDD!
 

Gr3iz

Mark
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
108,109
You said it was a new drive. I thought that meant that you had replaced the drive. Is this system new to you? Did you get it with no drive? Or have you just built it? We don't know the history ...

As I said, the symptoms exhibited seem to indicate a drive problem. It does not come ready soon enough.
 

taxihuyenbi

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 25, 2020
Messages
17
well, motherboard Asus is 3 to 4 year old. HDD Seagate is new (the previous one has windows 7 pro but just died so I bought a new HDD and install windows 10 Home from DVD on it) PSU new, CMOS new, SATA cable (from MOBO to HDD) new, RAM Stick 4GB old.
 

Gr3iz

Mark
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
108,109
So, prior to the old HDD going bad, the system did not exhibit these symptoms, correct? If that is true, it seems to point a big red finger at that HDD. I know it is new, but it happens.

Can you try to run Seagate's diags (Seatools) on it? You can download and install on a USB flashdrive and boot from it. That may not show anything since once it is running, it works fine.
 

taxihuyenbi

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 25, 2020
Messages
17
Thanks. I’ ll check it out soon.

Before the previous HDD died, when I turned the pc on, the American Megatrends screen showed up again and again and instructed me to hit “F1” to start Windows so I did it, then the HDD died later.

The mystery is: when I push the power button, why the BIOS can find the DVD ROM but can’t find HDD? Eventhough both are well-connected? But why the BIOS will find the HDD then if I press the RESET button?
 

Gr3iz

Mark
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
108,109
The BIOS should detect both the DVD and HDD devices. What I'm suspecting, however, is that the HDD is not spinning up and coming ready (meaning going through it's own POST-like activities and letting the system know that it is present and ready to go) quickly enough. I'm not sure, however, if that behavior will be detected by the Seatools diagnostics, if that is, in fact, what's happening.
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top