1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Asus K8t800 940 or 754?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Zipp080, Apr 7, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Zipp080

    Zipp080 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    When I go to the asus website itself, it says that the asus k8t800 for the AMD64 processors are 940 pin. But when I bought it and everywhere else, it says that its 754.. I'm alittle confused. It does show that the DELUXE version is 754, but mine isn't deluxe, its just the regular one.
     
  2. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,923
    First Name:
    Rob
    K8T800 is the VIA chipset on the motherboard not the motherboard model

    K8V Deluxe - socket 754
    SK8V - socket 940
     
  3. Zipp080

    Zipp080 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    ok, well my box says K8V. But the thing is, theres 2 versions when i went to buy it, there was the regular, and the deluxe for like 30$ more. I only bought the regular K8V version.
     
  4. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,923
    First Name:
    Rob
    Do you have a link to where you bought it?

    There appears to be a SK8V-SE Deluxe version, SK8V Deluxe, and a SK8V, but all are Socket 754.
     
  5. Zipp080

    Zipp080 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Alrigh I guess I'm just suppost to use the deluxe bios versions. Anyways, heres probably an easier question I have. I am currently on bios version 1001. But in the instructions to flash to 1005 it says

    "**Please flash BIOS using K8V1005.exe, and do not flash from 1001, 1002 or 1003 to version 1004 through EZFlash/AFUDOS/LiveUpdate**"

    I do not understand intirely. It says I cannot flash from 1001 to 1005 using those 3 methods. What other methods are there to use? And do I have to upgrade to each version such as first to 1002 then 1003 then 1004 and last 1005. Or can I skip directly from 1001 to 1005?
     
  6. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,923
    First Name:
    Rob
  7. Zipp080

    Zipp080 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Alright. well I found it on the left when i click motherboard. But at the top when you click PRODUCTS then go to motherbaords, its not there. They must of just not updated it up there.
     
  8. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,923
    First Name:
    Rob
    You don't have to flash each BIOS version, just the newest unless they specifically say to go in steps. You also don't have to flash it unless it fixes a specific issue or reolsves stability, 1005 does this. As for the instructions they mean that you shouldn't use the Flash utility provided in the BIOS or the one from Windows but to use the file that you are downloading. Read all the instructions carefully.


    AGAIN, do not flash the deluxe BIOS unless that the board you have.
     
  9. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,923
    First Name:
    Rob
    So which of the three versions is it?
     
  10. Zipp080

    Zipp080 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Yeah, it is not the board I have. But I did find the board I do have and it only has the 1001 version to download. I wonder why they are already at 1005 with the deluxe and still in the release of 1001 with the regular one :(
     
  11. Zipp080

    Zipp080 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    I just have the regular K8V.
     
  12. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,923
    First Name:
    Rob
    The Deluxe version has more features, hence more potential issues. I wouldn't even bother with the flash since nothing is specified in the BIOS release, its not likely significate.
     
  13. Zipp080

    Zipp080 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    The reason I was so confused before, was because at the top of the asus site, theres a PRODUCTS tab that you can click. Then you go down to MOTHERBOARDS, and it shows an image of all the motherboards. Well mine isn't in that list, only the deluxe version and the 940 pin version of the k8t800. So it confused me a bit which of those I was suppost to use for the BIOS versions to flash to, which apprantly is neither.
     
  14. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,923
    First Name:
    Rob
    Well the Downloads section is divided at least for each model. Not sure why its not listed in Products.
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/218181

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice