1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Asus PCE-N13 giving problems

Discussion in 'Networking' started by RiggerKelt, Jul 9, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. RiggerKelt

    RiggerKelt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Lately my wireless card has been giving me fits. Random disconnects, difficult to re-connect etc. Today it just gave up. I had a second card (exactly the same) that I swapped out, but the problems persist. ASUS support was non-existent. I managed to get as far as "limited connectivity" with the current set up (my desktop computer.
    Below are the TSG SysInfo and also the CMD IPConfig logs
    I hope you can help, I'm stumped
    Thanks
    TSGSYSINFO:
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.1
    OS Version: Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Home Premium , Service Pack 2, 32 bit
    Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4200+, x64 Family 15 Model 75 Stepping 2
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 3293 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 6150, 32 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 152621 MB, Free - 34761 MB; D: Total - 152620 MB, Free - 127563 MB;
    Motherboard: ASUSTek Computer INC., M2NPV-VM, 1.xx, 123456789000
    Antivirus: None (removed to reinstall ASUS WLAN utility) replaced now

    IPConfig logs:
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Trevelyan>ipconfig

    Windows IP Configuration


    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    C:\Users\Trevelyan>ipconfig

    Windows IP Configuration


    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : ftrdhcpuser.net
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::ecbe:21b4:78da:8c94%14
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.6
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    C:\Users\Trevelyan>ping 192.168.1.6

    Pinging 192.168.1.6 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.1.6: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.1.6: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.1.6: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.1.6: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

    Ping statistics for 192.168.1.6:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

    C:\Users\Trevelyan>ping 192.168.1.1

    Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.1.6: Destination host unreachable.
    Reply from 192.168.1.6: Destination host unreachable.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 2, Lost = 2 (50% loss),

    C:\Users\Trevelyan>ping 206.190.60.37

    Pinging 206.190.60.37 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.1.6: Destination host unreachable.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Reply from 192.168.1.6: Destination host unreachable.

    Ping statistics for 206.190.60.37:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 2, Lost = 2 (50% loss),

    C:\Users\Trevelyan>ping yahoo.com
    Ping request could not find host yahoo.com. Please check the name and try again.


    C:\Users\Trevelyan>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : ZAPHOD
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : ftrdhcpuser.net

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : ftrdhcpuser.net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : ASUS 802.11n Wireless LAN Card
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : E0-69-95-8C-0D-41
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::ecbe:21b4:78da:8c94%14(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.6(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, July 09, 2011 9:45:31 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, July 10, 2011 9:45:31 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 242250172
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-0D-96-48-01-00-17-31-6F-98-48

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.earthlink.net
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Users\Trevelyan>
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,320
    First Name:
    Terry
    Make sure that you have the latest wireless driver from Asus' web site.

    Are you using only Vista's WLAN Autoconfig to manage the connection or are you also using another wireless utility? Whichever you are doing, have you tried the other way?

    Please attach a screen shot of the Networks page of the Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector.
     
  3. RiggerKelt

    RiggerKelt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks for the quick reply!
    I do have the current Drivers. (I got them off the Asus site)

    As to the second question, I don't know how to check. I think I have tried both ways separately, and together. Sometimes the card works regardless of whether the Asus WLAN utility (is that what you are referring to?) is enabled or not.
    Currently I can connect to the internet in bursts of about 10seconds to 2minutes. If I disable the card, either using Xirrus or Device Manager, then re-enable it, it connects for long enough to get a screenshot, then disappears again. I did manage to get a screenshot of Xirrus, see below:
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/trevelyan_bloomfield/5922273367/
    (my apologies for using a link, I have not learned how to embed a picture here yet)

    Trev.
     
  4. RiggerKelt

    RiggerKelt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Xirrus Capture.JPG

    I think I did it (the screenshot, that is)

    Also, any attempt to use a browser results in the card dropping the connection.
     
  5. RiggerKelt

    RiggerKelt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Xirrus Capture 2.JPG

    Another screenshot, hope this helps.
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,320
    First Name:
    Terry
    First, you may be getting really serious wireless interference from that other channel 1 network. Change to channel 6.

    If that doesn't solve the issue, be aware that Vista sometimes struggles with WEP. See if running w/o encryption helps. Is there some reason that you can't use WPA?
     
  7. RiggerKelt

    RiggerKelt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    I'll try that when I get home.
     
  8. RiggerKelt

    RiggerKelt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Or maybe not. Can you tell me where to change the wireless channel in Windows? Asus CST recommended removing the Asus WLAN contoller and just using windows.
    Thanks!
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,320
    First Name:
    Terry
    Your wireless network is "owned" by your router. :) You login to the router and change the channel there.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1006575

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice