1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

ASUS shutting down & seems hot, battery low

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Frazzleduser, Jul 30, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Frazzleduser

Frazzleduser Thread Starter

I am new to IT forums and almost clueless with hardware problems and IT jargon. My ASUS has recently been shutting down without warning when inadvertently not plugged into mains power, then improved very slightly to at least give me a minute or two's warning with a message saying that there was just 1% battery power, although the icon on the task bar indicates that it is fully charged... I have watched it charging when on mains power. The battery orange light (that sometimes lights) is currently not on, and I don't know what that means. The battery default is on the balanced power plan. It may seem silly, but I am not sure if this indicates that the battery or the adapter requires replacement. But there is another possibility; could it be that my computer is overheating? I don't know what is normal for this or any computer. I downloaded HWMonitor but can't copy it here, so will have to type in manually below, not understanding the jargon included. It is changing up and down as it continues to monitor my laptop's functions.

Computer Temps THRM Value 54-56 deg C Min 54 deg C Max 76 deg C

Fans CPU Value 3200-3300 RPM Min 3200 RPM Max 5100 RPM

Intel Pentium Temps
    Core 0 Value 51-58 deg C Min 50 deg C Max 78 deg C
    Core 1 Value 50-56 deg C Min 50 deg C Max 77 deg C

NVIDIA temps TMPIN0 Value 60 deg C Min 60 deg C Max 75 deg C

Battery
    Voltages Current voltage Value 12.333-5 V Min 12.332 V Max 12.337 V

Capacities
    Designed capacity Value 48400 mWh Min 48400 mWh Max 48400 mWh