ASUS Wireless Router Problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

dreadbread

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 14, 2007
Messages
23
I have a problem with my ASUS wireless router. the model is ASUS WL-530G Pocket 4-Port Router. the problem is that I cant connect to the internet after doing the configurations. i've already done this Router connection using D-Link router and it works fine.
I did the usual connection. the ADSL modem connected to the WAN port of the Router. then 1 LAN port is connected to the desktop. my IP is set automatically. I installed the ASUS Wireless Router using the CD provided. then proceeded to the Quick setup after logging-in through the browser. I chose the ADSL connection that requires username and password, known as PPPoE. I entered the username and password of the ISP and finished the setup. i skipped the Configure Wireless Interface since i don't think its that needed in my setup. Mine is Wired Connection. the problem is that i still cannot connect to the internet. should I do something else besides that usual setup?

thank you very much for the usual help here!
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Here's a recipe to reset and connect a broadband router for wired connections.

Reset the router to factory defaults by holding the reset button down for 15 seconds with power on.

  • Turn off everything, the modem, router, computer.
  • Connect the modem to the router's WAN/Internet port.
  • Connect the computer to one of the router's LAN/Network ports.
  • Turn on the modem, wait for a steady connect light.
  • Turn on the router, wait for two minutes.
  • Boot the computer.




Please supply the following info, exact make and models of the equipment please.

Make and model of the broadband modem.
Make and model of the router.
Connection type, wired or wireless.
If wireless, encryption used, (none, WEP, WPA, or WPA2)
Make/model of your computer.
Version and patch level of Windows on all affected machines, i.e. XP-Home (or XP-Pro), SP2, Vista, etc.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,401
If you're not working after the above, what is the brand and model of the ADSL modem?
 

dreadbread

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 14, 2007
Messages
23
thanks for the help.
i tried what you mentioned earlier but it still does not work.

Model of Broadband modem: NTT (japanese) ADSL Modem NV-SPLR. 100 Base-TX/10 Base-T
Model of Router: ASUS WL-530G Pocket 4-Port Router 54Mbps 802.11b/g compliant
Connection type: Wired Connection
Model of computer: a) Laptop: Dell Inspiron 1200 Intel Celeron. b) Desktop: Pentium 3
Windows version/patch: a) Laptop: XP Home SP2. b) Desktop: XP Home SP2.

i tried both as to where I installed the Router but both yielded failed results.
thank you very much for the help!
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
I'm limited by the fact that I can't find an English manual, or any page for that matter, for the NTT NV-SPLR modem. My guess is that it's likely a router as well, but that's just a guess.
 

dreadbread

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 14, 2007
Messages
23
thanks for the reply. the modem only has 1 port for an RJ-45 cable. and it has 3 for the smaller ones (phone lines). i think the modem is not a commercialized because it has no brand. i wrote everything in English i see on the box (its japanese). i believe NTT is a telephone company in Japan and those are the modems they used.
thank you very much for the help!

another question, in the ISP's Properties in the Advanced tab, Internet Connection Sharing frame: is it possible to use that for sharing the Internet connection? i tired it but failed, but is there a way to use that for sharing?
again, thank you very much!
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Let's see this when you're connected to the modem directly.

Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

Type the following command:

IPCONFIG /ALL

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
 

dreadbread

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 14, 2007
Messages
23
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Tyrone>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Cabrera
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Mixed
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connecti
on
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-12-3F-F7-2B-54
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.2
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, October 29, 2007 9:00:56 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, October 30, 2007 9:00:56 PM


PPP adapter ASAHI:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : WAN (PPP/SLIP) Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-53-45-00-00-00
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 221.113.31.20
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 221.113.31.20
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 202.224.32.1
202.224.32.2
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

C:\Documents and Settings\Tyrone>

this is direct connection of the modem to the laptop.
thank you very much sir!
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
OK, your "modem" appears to be a modem/router, since it has a private IP address. I'd configure the secondary router as follows.

Connecting two SOHO broadband routers together.

Configure the IP address of the secondary router to be in the same subnet as the primary router, but out of the range of the DHCP server in the primary router. For instance DHCP server addresses 192.168.1.2 through 192.168.1.100, I'd assign the secondary router 192.168.1.254 as it's IP address.

Note: Do this first, as you will have to reboot the computer to connect to the router again for the remaining changes.

Disable the DHCP server in the secondary router.

Setup the wireless section just the way you would if it was the primary router, channels, encryption, etc.

Connect from the primary router's LAN port to one of the LAN ports on the secondary router. If there is no uplink port and neither of the routers have auto-sensing ports, use a cross-over cable. Leave the WAN port unconnected!

This procedure bypasses the routing function (NAT layer) and configures the router as a switch (or wireless access point for wireless routers).
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,401
Question, mostly for JohnWill but maybe dreadbread can answer or help.

What's with that PPP adapter in the ipconfig? Can that be ignored, or does it foretell problems when trying to connect multiple computers after configuring the second router as a switch?

By the way, dreadbread, if you don't plan to use the wireless I suggest you set the router's wireless mode to 'disabled' or 'off.'
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
I'm guessing that it's left over from a previous direct connection to a PPP modem. I've been fooled with those before. If it's an active connection, then I don't know what's going on here. :D
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top