1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

ata 133

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by donnybrasco, Sep 1, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. donnybrasco

    donnybrasco Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    ok...from a total newbie =0 and a master in setting up hardware/software=10 i would say im a 6

    is it hard to set up my ata 133 on my soyo dragon ultra and is it stable i dont know much at all about it... and is it worth the time.... upping the speed wise?
     
  2. winbob

    winbob

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    3,370
    I'm not sure that I understand your Question???? The Soyo Dragon Ultra has native ATA 133 support. Are you refering to RAID setup/support???
     
  3. donnybrasco

    donnybrasco Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    yes the setup i know it supports it...i believe i have to set up an array or something dont i?
     
  4. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    40,121
    If you want to setup raid, you need at least two drives. They should be of the same size and buffer; ideally the same mgf. In addition when you setup raid, all existing data on the drives is destroyed. You cannot take a drive with an os or data and make it into part of a raid array without loosing everything on the drive that is there now.

    Post back if you want instructions on how to setup raid.
     
  5. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    40,121
    BTW I am not a fan of onboard ide raid. The onboard type of raid controller is a dumbed down version of the controller used on a real raid card.

    My thinking is if you want raid, buy a real raid card.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/268864

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice