1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Ata/ide?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by rosh325, Feb 5, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rosh325

    rosh325 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,098
    Hey, Quick question...if i want to replace my current hd (fujitsu 8gig capacity).....do i need to do anything as far as my IDE cables...i constantly see "ATA 100" associated with HD but i dont know what that is...my MB is about 3 years old......i can provide more info if needed...thanks
     
  2. rmay635703

    rmay635703

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,278
    Don't bother changing cables if your system only supports ATA33, if it supports above ata33 you need to buy an 80wire IDE cable and attach it correctly to your system board

    Cheers
     
  3. rosh325

    rosh325 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,098
    I'm a tad bit confused...how do i know what my sistem has (as far as ata)..also...is ata 33 slower than ata100....can a 33 system support 100?
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Bigger numbers are faster. AFAIK, only Maxtor is up to ATA-133, the new WD drives are still ATA-100. As mentioned, anything faster than ATA-33 requires 80 conductor cables. Your controller auto-recognizes if you have the proper cable and adjusts the DMA speed.
     
  5. rosh325

    rosh325 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,098
    "controller"? afaid i dont know that......as far as this cable...how expensive is it/complicated to hook up?
     
  6. JSanguancheu

    JSanguancheu

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,824
    You'll need to check the IDE controller specs in your PC's owner's manual or go to the manufacturer's site and see if they have the specs listed.

    There are 5 different flavors of ATA out there right now.
    ATA 33/66/100/133 and the newest.. Serial ATA (SATA)

    Since your HD is only 8Gb, it's probably ATA33 which uses an IDE cable with 40 wires in it.

    The faster ATA versions require a new IDE cable that has 80 wires. To transfer more data faster. Most of the HD's sold today are ATA 100/133/or SATA. The new cables are fairly cheap. $3-6.

    If your PC only supports ATA33, you should still be able to use the new drives on it, but the HD just won't perform to its best ability.

    Good luck.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/117218

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice