1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

atheros network card not working

Discussion in 'Networking' started by MattD00, Jan 28, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. MattD00

    MattD00 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Yesterday I was on my windows 7 32bit laptop and the internet cut out and it couldn't reconnect as it said no connections were available. I restarted my laptop,router still no luck went into the device manager disabled and enabled the network card nothing reinstalled it still nothing. Looked to see if one of the services for wireless had been disabled. Rebooted into safe mode with networking still the same. When my laptop boots the network icon shows that it is searching for a network but it doesn't find one. The wireless card is a Atheros AR5007EG with up to date drivers. I think the network card may have just given up as the wireless works fine on my desktop and netbook.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    moved to networking forum
    we are seeing issues with this adapter when connecting to routers with WPA(2) on , usually under vista OS - it connects to the router but no internet

    Can you log into the router and remove the wireless security - see if that now connects
    otherwise can we see
    device manager
    ipconfig /all
    and
    xirrus
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {ipconfig /all}
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here
    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results here
    -> Start
    -> (XP - enter the following in the RUN box)
    cmd /k ipconfig /all
    -> (Vista or Windows 7 - enter the following in the Search box)
    cmd /k ipconfig /all

    A black box will appear on the screen -
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy

    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector} Download and install
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

    http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifitools.php
    Direct link to the program is here http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifi_download_redirect.php
    Then run and install the program
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    Run the program

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {Device Manager}
    Post back the results in device manager
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
    windows 7
    start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager

    network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices listed there
    are there any ! ? or X


    post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. MattD00

    MattD00 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    I disabled my wireless security and my laptop still couldn't find any connections.
    I then ran ipconfig all
    indows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Matthew-Laptop
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5007EG Wireless Network Adapter

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1B-9E-30-06-BE
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet
    NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1A-92-FA-E0-42
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{1887447A-54FD-425B-9D79-E202AA839F99}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{AEBFC937-10D9-422A-9EEB-917C6F8A0568}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    running Xirrus could not find any wireless connections

    The device manager displayed my wired and wireless adapters and said that they were running fine
    [​IMG]

    I think may wireless card has just broken then
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Abriam26

    Abriam26

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    267
    Maybe you are out of your router's/acces point's range.
    Try to move your laptop to another place.

    And if it's broken down, just buy a new wifi usb adapter.
    A 54mbps 802.11b/g will be around the €15. (in the Netherlands, it depends on where you live)
     
  5. MattD00

    MattD00 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    I have tried it right next the the router and nothing.
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,217
    First Name:
    Terry
    You did double check to make sure the wireless is switched on, right?

    What brand of laptop, please?
     
  7. MattD00

    MattD00 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Yes everything is turned on
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,217
    First Name:
    Terry
    Maybe patronising [sic] to you, but the people who accidentally switch their integrated wireless adapter off are happy, if a little embarrassed, for the quick fix. Some of them don't even know what the switch is on their laptop. It is often the problem when everything else looks normal but no networks can be detected.
     
  9. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,252
    fwiw, I've actually fallen victim to that, and I work on networks for a living. Sometimes the simplest solution is the one most overlooked. :)
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can we see an xirrus screen shot as requested above please ....
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/977610

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice