1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

ATI X800 GTO & SATA HD problems

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by sawtoothgrin, Jan 21, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sawtoothgrin

sawtoothgrin Thread Starter

This is my first post, so thanks for taking the time to look at it. I'm relatively new to the whole building computers thing so please, bear with me. I have a basic knowledge and find most of my information via forums such as these.

I just recently did some upgrading and purchased an ATI X899 GTO video card (because it was in my price range and had the vertex shader model I was looking for) as well as a relatively cheap 320 gig Seagate SATA HD. I installed everything and booted my pc with no visible problems.

I'm running an older IDE HD as my master drive (as it contains windows and all my other programs/files that I can't really afford to lose). The BIOS detected the SATA drive and displayed all of the info, but upon entering Windows, it isn't visible via any means that I know of. Is there something I need to be doing with jumpers and such?

I noticed when I entered the BIOS that the left side of the screen was shaking a bit, as if I had done a Degauss on the monitor and it hadn't quite returned to it's normal state. It's just the left side of the screen that is shaking. When I booted windows from there, it was fine... until a few hours later when the same thing started happening in Windows after a few reboots (due to software installation and such). Is it possible that this is a problem with my monitor (it's an older hp pavilion mx75 that I had around the house)?

Any help would be great as I'm kind of stuck. Thanks for your time. :)

2. crjdriver

crjdriver Moderator