1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

AtiTools with Radeon 9550

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by XSkylerX, Feb 14, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. XSkylerX

    XSkylerX Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    289
    Every time I try to overclock my graphics card using ati tools, the settings go back to default. Ive tried uninstalling the updated driver but still the same thing. How do I get it to stay overclocked? please help! :confused:
     
  2. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,910
    First Name:
    Rob
    The 9550 has a lock that needs to remove first. Its located under Settings.

    I'd recommend setting up a Profile with the higher clock speeds and only load it when you need it, it'll help keep temps and wear down on the card, otherwise you can choose to have ATITool to load the profile at Windows startup.
     
  3. XSkylerX

    XSkylerX Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    289
    I just have the generic driver for the card, do i need to install the updated ones in order to change this setting?
     
  4. Compiler

    Compiler

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5,855
    Also note, the 9550 is actually a re-named 9200 class card. ie: 9250/9550 are not much different and I've only used them in desktop builds for office systems. For high-quality output and DVI connection. The 9550 is NOT even close to a 9500/9600 series.

    Overclocking the 9550 will not really help much.

    Replace card if you're wanting more game power.
     
  5. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,910
    First Name:
    Rob
    You need the latest ATI driver, if you don't have that then you need to install that first before doing any overclocking or tweaking.

    Latest Catalyst driver: http://ati.amd.com/support/drivers/xp/radeonx-xp.html

    But to remove the lock you, thats a setting in ATITool.
     

    Attached Files:

    • lock.JPG
      lock.JPG
      File size:
      28.9 KB
      Views:
      505
  6. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,910
    First Name:
    Rob
    Actually the Radeon 9550 is a clocked down version of the Radeon 9600 series of cards and it has lots of overclocking potential.
     
  7. XSkylerX

    XSkylerX Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    289
    I got it to work (thanx to Triple6) and I did overclock the memory a little bit and it helped GTAIII out. What would be a "safe" speed to overclock it at? From what ive heard the max core and memory from atitool arent really what it can do. Also, when I first bought the card, I stuck a Celeron 500mhz fan right over the heatsink, will that be enough to keep the card cool?
     
  8. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,910
    First Name:
    Rob
    The fans on the 9600 series aren't that big so chances are the fan you have will be ok.

    The Radeon 9600 Pro is clocked at 400Mhz for the core and the 9600XT is clocked at 500Mhz. So you may be able to go that high or even a little higher. But you probably won't be able to hit the same memory speeds that the 9600 Pro/XT's run at since the memory on most 9550 isn't able to clock that high.
     
  9. XSkylerX

    XSkylerX Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    289
    Cool, thanx, also, what are some bad things about overclocking (ive never done this before) and whats the worst that can happen?
     
  10. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,910
    First Name:
    Rob
    Artifacts, crashes, lockups, death of the video card...
     
  11. XSkylerX

    XSkylerX Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    289
    max core test crashed at 518mhz and the max mem test just went bad all together. default core speed is 250mhz and mem is 196mhz. i think ill run the core at 400mhz and the mem at 250 during game time. i dont get any artifacts really until i hit 260 with the mem. should i set it lower then for gaming? also, how do i overclock my cpu? ive got a socket 423 1.8ghz p4. do u have to have a certain mobo to do that?
     
  12. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,910
    First Name:
    Rob
    Wow, a scoket 423 - now thats an obsolete unit. But you need to have settings in the BIOS to increase the FSB, voltages, and multiplier - none of which you'll find in a Gateway computer.

    400 and 250 sound good, thats around the Radeon 9600 Pro speeds, if it doesn't crash until the core speed is over 500 Mhz then you might be able to get a little more then 400 Mhz out of it.
     
  13. XSkylerX

    XSkylerX Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    289
    haha yeah, its old, but it plays doom 3 and half life 2 and call of duty 2 so im happy with it. thanx for the help with the graphics card, i was thinkin of buyin a 512mb but now i might buy another gig of ram instead.
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - AtiTools Radeon 9550
  1. robirocz28
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    147
  2. Drysyn
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    610
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/544060

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice