Atomating PC Maintenance Possible ?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

number2

I am pretty new to XP and have limited experiance with 9X. I've worked with computers back when I was in highschool and used graphics programs on macs during my brief stint at collage. With in the last 8 months I purchased this computer brand new (a milestone for me technologically speaking). This is the first computer that I have owned that is actually capable of running current programs and stuff and I would really like to keep it running in top form.

I am trying to set up various system maintanance apps to run automatically through out the week while I'm not using my PC. I'd like to schedual a disk defrag & cleaner, a registry cleaner & defrag tool, and a virus scan along with spybot.

I tried using Schedualed Tasks but when the different programs are brought up at their schedualed times I need to be there to start and run them. The only stuff that I have working is the Norton Antivirus and ms AntiSpyware, but these were set up and schedualed with in there application settings and not with the Schedualed Task tool. I can't find a way to start the defrags and cleaners automatically.

Shouldn't there be some way to go about setting up these utilities to run by using a console or something. I would think that it would be possible to set up something like a defrag to run automaticallly.

I welcome any suggestions on how to do this. I was thinking that this was a brilliant plan
and would really like to see it work. But seriously, is this something that is feasable or just silly.

a program i use is called TuneUp utillities 2006 i got it at download.com you can schedule disk cleaning, registry cleaning,about anything you need to keep your computer at top speed although it is not free software