1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Attaching single band external antenna to dual band wi-fi router.

Discussion in 'Networking' started by kn4ova, Feb 27, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kn4ova

kn4ova Thread Starter

Will I damage the RF output circuit of a dual band wi-fi router if I attach an antenna that is only designed for the 2.4 gHz? band?

2. Sponsor

3. jhayz

jhayz

4. kn4ova

kn4ova Thread Starter

Thank you. I am a retired radio broadcasting engineer and have been an active ham radio operator since 1957, so I am familiar with most of the information about antennas in the link you sent. - I should explain what I'm trying to do - I have a guest house located about 275' from my home. I want to provide guest wi-fi service to that house from a router in my home. I am only interested in getting a useable 2.4 gHz low-band signal to/from the guest house, not high-band. I think a very high gain antenna might do the job. It is clear line of sight. I might have to use a range extender at the guest house to get full coverage inside. - I have a router with three removable antennas on order. I am currently serving my small home with an old router with a single antenna, so I think I could spare one of three antenna ports in order to aim a signal toward the guest house. - My question had to do with my concern about the fact that a low-band antenna will present a very serious impedance mismatch to the high-band signal from a modern dual band wireless router. - Maybe there is a better way to achieve srevice to the guest house than what I have in mind. I'd welcome suggestions.

5. jhayz

jhayz