1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

"Attempting to authenticate"

Discussion in 'Networking' started by hlw_rocer, Feb 25, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. hlw_rocer

    hlw_rocer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    I continuously get this problem on my laptop and I have no idea why it is occurring. I just fixed it by running a system restore but I think it may happen again.
    What can I do to stop this from happening?
    Please help! ​
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    I'm not sure you can stop it, aswe dont know what caused the issue - and it may not occur again.

    It may have been an update to windows or to a security suite
    What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, kaspersky or Mcafee or any free security suites like zonealarm, AVG , Webroot etc
     
  3. hlw_rocer

    hlw_rocer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    I have AVG but I don't think that's the problem because I've had it for months before the problem occurred. It may be a update to windows but the problem is I don't have any system restore points to restore to. I'm pretty sure the earliest one was around the time the problem occurred.
    It's annoying too, since so far it has happened once a day for about 30 minutes each time. Before I was able to fix it by using
    netsh winsock reset catalog
    netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
    netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
    but the latest time (yesterday) it was not working, and was fixed when I system restored to a couple days ago.
    It may just be a problem with my wireless card though, considering my computer is getting a bit old and I may buy a USB wireless adapter to see if that helps fix the problem.
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    it can be AVG - we have lots of issues with security suites here
    also make sure you have a restore point created when working correctly
     
  5. hlw_rocer

    hlw_rocer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Woops sorry I meant avast not AVG
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    avast should be ok
     
  7. hlw_rocer

    hlw_rocer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Gah, this is annoying then, no hints on why this happens (currently on my laptop right now :|)
    Oh well, I'll probably get a new laptop after this summer.
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    i probably restore PCs once a week - on various forums and clients and in the majority of cases nothing happens again

    if its all working good now ,i would wait and see what happens - not much you can do to stop it happing again

    we could run quite a few tests

    chkdsk - see if the hdd is all ok
    memtest for a day and see if it fails at all
    sfc /scannow and see if that finds any corrupt windows files
    depending on age of PC - do a defrag
    run a deepscan with a virus checker
    run a full scan with superantispyware
    run a full scan with malwarebytes

    that will take a few days to run all those
    and could also create / show up the issue and fail the hardware - if on its way out
    and before any of that
    do a full backup of all your data and make sure you have a copy of the installation files for all programs and a recovery windows cd
     
  9. hlw_rocer

    hlw_rocer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    sfc scannow didn't show up with anything.
    Currently defragging my hard drive - it was 21% fragmented... o.o
    malwarebytes quickscan showed up with nothing and I ran spybot yesterday as well, so I don't think that's the problem
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1090990

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice