1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved Attempting to mount Windows USB

Discussion in 'Linux and Unix' started by Brwnjacketwithsunglss, Feb 3, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Brwnjacketwithsunglss

    Brwnjacketwithsunglss Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2019
    Messages:
    76
    the problem is that there is no mounter application on my UBUNTU
     
  2. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    13,229
    First Name:
    Allan
    Does it show up in the File Manager ? What version of Ubuntu is it ?
     
  3. Brwnjacketwithsunglss

    Brwnjacketwithsunglss Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2019
    Messages:
    76
    i found it but im now getting an error whenever i attempt to mount the disk
     
  4. Miqw7394

    Miqw7394

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    186
    First Name:
    Mike
    Plug the USB in. Open a terminal, and issue

    fdisk -l

    .....then hit 'Enter'. (That's a small 'L', not a '1'.)

    Does the USB drive show up in the listing?

    -------------------------------------

    After you've done that, before closing the terminal type

    blkid

    .....followed by 'Enter'. Again, does it show in the listing?


    Mike. ;)
     
  5. Brwnjacketwithsunglss

    Brwnjacketwithsunglss Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2019
    Messages:
    76
    i tried typing fdisk -l and it said permission delted or something, so no
     
  6. Miqw7394

    Miqw7394

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    186
    First Name:
    Mike
    Sorry, my bad. I should have said

    sudo fdisk -l

    .....then hit 'Enter'. It's a few years since I've used Ubuntu; 'Puppy' Linux doesn't use 'sudo', since it runs as root anyway.

    (The Ubuntu 'flavours', indeed all mainstream Linux distros, believe the individual is safer simply running as a 'normal user'.....and leaving root permissions purely to the system. So the 'sudo' protocol allows the user to temporarily 'assume' root powers so that system changes/alterations/calls can be made by entering the password you set up when first booting the system.)

    'Sudo' is also required in front of the

    blkid

    .....command, as well.


    Mike. ;)
     
  7. mohittomar13

    mohittomar13

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    364
    First Name:
    Mohit Tomar
    You should use the 'mount' command in the terminal with 'sudo'.

    The standard form of the mount command is:

    mount -t type device dir

    This tells the kernel to attach the filesystem found on device (which is of type type) at the directory dir. The option -t
    type is optional. The mount command is usually able to detect a filesystem.

    To find the device use:
    sudo fdisk -l
    This command will show you the device for example /dev/sda1 or /dev/sda2 or /dev/sda3 - etc. As you are using a USB device it should be something like /dev/sdb.

    make a directory in the /mnt by typing
    sudo mkdir /mnt/mntPtForUSB

    then use the mount command as below:
    sudo mount /dev/sdb /mnt/mntPtForUSB

    remember to unmount the device using
    sudo umount /mnt/mntPtForUSB

    Note : That a file system cannot be unmounted when it is 'busy' - for example, when there are open files on it, or when some process has its working directory there, or when a swap file on it is in use.
     
  8. mohittomar13

    mohittomar13

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    364
    First Name:
    Mohit Tomar
    You can also use 'lsblk' to double check if what fdisk -l shows is actually the device you are looking for. As it shows a nice tree view of the devices.

    I hope this helps
     
  9. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    13,229
    First Name:
    Allan
    If this is really solved please post the solution.
     
  10. Brwnjacketwithsunglss

    Brwnjacketwithsunglss Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2019
    Messages:
    76
    i had to mount the individual file and not just the partition
     
  11. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    13,229
    First Name:
    Allan
    As far as I know you can't 'mount' an individual file. Please explain what you did in more detail.
     
  12. mohittomar13

    mohittomar13

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    364
    First Name:
    Mohit Tomar
    Files are stored internally in data structures, and data structures are designed deep into the filesystem. It's like opening a locked box which is inside another locked box. You need to first unlock the outer box to reach for the box inside. As far as I know, there is no utility for mounting individual files (other than data recovery software - but that too would require the disk to be mounted). Please let us know if you find a way to mount files, that would be interesting to know.
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Attempting mount Windows
  1. spirittoo
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    506
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1239675

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice