Attention! Windows XP Users That Have Microsoft Security Essentials

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,801
Wouldn't it be a good time to dump MSE for good? There are better alternatives out there anyway, even free ones.

I don't know about you, but if Microsoft is killing XP, personally, I wouldn't trust them to move heaven and earth to keep MSE running smoothly on XP... :rolleyes:

Aren't we seeing enough problems between MSE and XP lately... ?
 

flavallee

Frank
Thread Starter
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
84,573
I'm not running Windows XP in any of my computers, so it's not affecting me.

I'm just trying to make those who are using MSE in Windows XP aware of the most recent issue.

----------------------------------------------------------
 

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,801
I'm not running Windows XP in any of my computers, so it's not affecting me.

I'm just trying to make those who are using MSE in Windows XP aware of the most recent issue.

----------------------------------------------------------
Sorry if it may have looked that way, flavallee. It wasn't really directed at you. :)

Your information is useful. One more hint...

I just think maybe it's time for MSE users to move on. It's much easier than "moving on" from Windows XP... :D
 

flavallee

Frank
Thread Starter
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
84,573
I've never used Avast, but it seems to be the most popular alternative to using MSE.

If I'm correct, MSE will no longer install in Windows XP computers that don't already have it.

-----------------------------------------------------------
 

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,801
One good solution:

Avast + PrivateFirewall

(y)
Could be.

Free solutions however aren't many... For people who can't afford to pay for an antivirus, I'd say Avast has good ratings. But, there's a very good assortment of paid ones out there. Suites will include the firewall.
 

flavallee

Frank
Thread Starter
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
84,573
When I previously worked on some old Windows XP computers that have a slow single-core processor and a small amount of RAM and were running MSE, its "MsMpEng.exe" running process used 300 MB+ of RAM in some of them.

That running process alone would be enough to slow them down to a turtle's pace.

Once that running process was disabled or MSE was uninstalled, they returned to a normal pace.

The "MsMpEng.exe" running process is using 400 MB+ in my Windows 7 computer, but it having a core 2 duo 3.16 GHz processor and 4 GB of RAM prevents it from slowing things down.

It's definitely not designed to be used in old, slow computers.

---------------------------------------------------------
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2010
Messages
69
EDITED POST -Sorry, I ment to state that I'm unable to load any MS Security Essentials UPDATES, not the program itself. I've had MSE since it became available, but not it fails to update automatically as well as manually.

If anyone has a suggest I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks.
 

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,801
If you decide to install another antivirus, by all means, remove MSE first. Never install two antivirus programs on the same computer.

As for Norton, I'd choose something else...

If you're gonna go on with XP, might as well be adequately protected. They say an antivirus will not be able to compensate for the lack of security patches from Microsoft, but it can sure help when part of a multi-layered security strategy.
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
2,643
I've never used Avast, but it seems to be the most popular alternative to using MSE.

If I'm correct, MSE will no longer install in Windows XP computers that don't already have it.

-----------------------------------------------------------
Be careful of Avast on XP. Latest versions cause XP to freeze. And freeze in such a way that the computer is irrecoverable. Recently had this issue with a client, fortunately the client had a recent image of the System Disk so we could rebuild the disk. Without the image it would have been terminal. :mad:

http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=137454.new;topicseen#new

T.
 

blues_harp28

Moderator
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,661
Just to give another thought on the matter.
I have been using Avast free for over ten years on a Win Xp Pro without any problems.
And have just updated to the latest version 2014.9.0.2016 and on re-boot no problems.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top