1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Audigy 2 Soundcard - bouncing tracks

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by RoystonD, Sep 27, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RoystonD

RoystonD Thread Starter

Hello

I have just changed to a new computer and Windows XP (and CubaseSX) and my computerhas a Pentium 4 with 512 RAM

My problem is that (working in Cubase SX) I cannot bounce a track from audio to audio or midi to audio using the Surround Sound mixer and Audigy 2. I am a working musician so my biggest need is to record in midi and then send the recorded midi track to an audio track – something I have been doing for years. I also need to do audio to audio.

I send the line out from the sound card to an external mixing desk and an auxiliary sends the signal back to line in on the soundcard. Of course I never have the recording side line in and the play side line in enabled at the same time otherwise a feed back loop is created.

I have been doing this successfully for five years with the Soundblaster Live card and VST 3.7 so I know it can be done with a soundblaster card.

Under the old regime on the play side of the mixer display I enabled Midi in and Wav in and play control (which seeds to be a master control) but not the line in. On the record side I enabled the line in. This worked.

That was in VST 3.7 so I then tried to do this in SX. but still using the SBLive card and mixer. This worked OK with the same settings except that the dancing light in the level meter indication only showed a small top portion of its bar not the full bar on the miniaturised display but pressing edit showed a proper dancing bar