Audio and Video driver for Gateway MT3715c needed

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Leczy

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 5, 2009
Messages
8
Dear All,

My system (Gateway MT3715c) was recently invaded by viruses and I had to re-format the system. The audio and video files were among the affected ones. I searched the net for another download but could not get the drivers for Windows XP, only those for vista are available which I downloaded but it's of no use since I'm running XPPro on my system.

If anyone on the forum know how I can get one, kindly help.

Thanks,


Leczy
 

Frank4d

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Sep 10, 2006
Messages
9,126
Open Device Manager, then right click an unknown ! or ? device, then Properties, then the Details tab, and finally choose Hardware Ids from the dropdown menu. It should show something like this: HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_8384&DEV_7616&SUBSYS_00000100 for the Sigmatel audio device. Post the information for your device and we may be able to find a driver for XP.

You should be able to find the graphics drivers at ati.com.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,102
Here is the support site for the Gateway MT3715c laptop.

It came with Windows Vista (32-bit) pre-installed, so it doesn't list any drivers for Windows XP.

According to its specification section, it has ATI Radeon Xpress 200M graphics and Sigmatel high definition audio.

-----------------------------------------------------------
 

Leczy

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 5, 2009
Messages
8
@Frank4d
Below is the outcome of the Hardware id property; thanks in advance

HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_8384&DEV_7690&SUBSYS_107B0318&REV_1022
HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_8384&DEV_7690&SUBSYS_107B0318

Leczy
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,102
@Frank4d
Below is the outcome of the Hardware id property; thanks in advance

HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_8384&DEV_7690&SUBSYS_107B0318&REV_1022
HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_8384&DEV_7690&SUBSYS_107B0318

Leczy
Those vendor and device codes are for Sigmatel high definition audio

--------------------------------------------------------

Do the same for any other entries in the Device Manager that have a ? or ! next to them.

-------------------------------------------------------
 

Leczy

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 5, 2009
Messages
8
@Flavallee

Thanks, I have been to this site early, like I mentioned in my original post, I only saw drivers for window vista.
 

Leczy

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 5, 2009
Messages
8
Hi Flavallee,

Thanks for you assistance. I downloaded the file but it still did not work with the system. Moreover this is a graphic file, the audio file is not included. Below is the message displayed.

"Setup did not find a driver compatible with your current hardware or operating system. Setup will exit now".

And it exited.
 

Frank4d

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Sep 10, 2006
Messages
9,126
Leczy, since your laptop shipped with Vista and the support page doesn't offer XP drivers, one solution that usually works is to install the sound driver intended for another Gateway computer that was sold with XP, that uses the same hardware.

Here you go: http://support.gateway.com/support/...io Driver Version: 5.10.4647.4&uid=326818650
You need to unzip the driver file, then run setup.exe from the D00491-001-001\D00491-001-001 folder.

The STHDA.INF file inside indicates that it should work with your HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_8384&DEV_7690 sound hardware. There may be a catch though. If you have XP SP3, it may not install unless we fool it into thinking you have SP2.

Let us know what XP service pack you have, and exactly what errors you see (if any) trying to install this.
 

Leczy

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 5, 2009
Messages
8
Error message displayed is:

"This version of Intel Audio Studio does not support the board detected. For list of boards supported by the upgrade version of Intel Audio Studio, please refer to http://www.intel.com/design/motherbd.

Also the version of service pack 3 on the system is: 5..2600 Service Pack 3 Build 2600.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top