audio CD playback stuttering

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Lion_Singh

When I play any audio CD the music play back stutters. I have an integrated sound motherboard. The playback software/device(?) is called ESS Audiodrive. When I ran DXDiag and tested this under the music tab the DXdiag locked up (had to quit DXdiag with task manager). Previous times with DXDiag this test worked fine. Am using WMP 9 recently downloaded and installed. I have attached the DX info file (without running the Music tab ESS Audiodrive test). If there is any other info needed, please reply.

I'm not an pro, either. Looking at the problem from a basic point of view though your computer might not allow playing CDs while having other, heavy software running.

Lion_Singh

Hi wuntzt,

But that still does not explain why DXDiag hangs on that particular test when it used to pass before. I have had no problems with system resources not being enough to play CD's before. Any other ideas?

Lion_Singh

Sorry for the late response. I reinstalled my audio drivers and DXDiag Direct Music test sort of works. It delays a little while then starts playing the test sounds. It doesn't lock up. But when I try to play the CD the same problem is there. I don't know what you mean by installing Direct X drivers. Do you mean reinstalling DX 9.0c?

Lion_Singh

I forgot to include the IRQ list.

0 System timer
1 Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural Keyboard
2 Programmable interrupt controller
3 (free)
4 Communications Port (COM1)
5 ES1869 Plug and Play AudioDrive (WDM)
6 Standard Floppy Disk Controller
7 Printer Port (LPT1)
8 System CMOS/real time clock
9 (free)
10 (free)
11 Intel 82371AB/EB PCI to USB Universal Host Controller
11 Intel 21143/2 based 10/100 mbps Ethernet Controller
11 RAGE LT PRO AGP 2X (English)
11 IRQ Holder for PCI Steering
12 PS2 (PS/2)