1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Audio cd's stop playing after a minute + also having trouble ripping audio cd's.

Discussion in 'Multimedia' started by robv1805, Sep 8, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. robv1805

robv1805 Thread Starter

Audio cd's stop playing after a minute + also having trouble ripping audio cd's to my computer.

09-08-2011 11:57 AM

I need some help and not sure what to do next? Seems this problem is common but I can't seem to get it down. I'm far from a expert so please help me...

My dad has a Compaq presario SR5550f w/ Vista 32bit w/ service pack 2 up to date.
    When he try's to play audio cd's he get's this message.

Windows Media Player cannot read the CD. The disc might be dirty or damaged. Turn on Error correction, and then try again.

CD player plays only 1 minute and 3 seconds before error-ing out (although still plays DVDs). So, I thought Ok, let me rip his music and he can play off his comp. But when I try to rip audio it's goes about 20% and gives me a read error.

So, I turned on Error correction and nothing.

Seen in a few forums that I should update the drivers.

I uninstalled the burner driver from the device manager and nothing still.

I updated his Nvidia graphics driver just fine but it didn't find any thing for the motherboard?

I also updated his audio driver from the hp website.

So, after all that I thought maybe it's a hard ware issue? So, I changed out this burner for a new one and it still does the same thing?

have tested other cd-rs & retail audio disc. For some reason it's just audio's and ripping?

The other day he watched a whole dvd movie just fine!

I'm gussing it's a driver issue I just don't know which one's to look for?

Any help is appricated.

2. Oddba11

Oddba11

First Name: