1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Audio Commercials Playing in Background

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by Alex Ethridge, Apr 30, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Alex Ethridge

    Alex Ethridge Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2000
    Messages:
    9,185
    Running Windows 8.1 and Firefox 37.0.2


    Audio commercials playing in background at random times when running Firefox. Hasn't happened when not running Firefox (so far).


    This started about a week ago. So far, this has happened only in Firefox; but, I am not absolutely sure it won't happen in IE as I use it almost none at all. If I close Firefox, the commercial stops immediately. Firefox and IE are the only browsers I have installed. I have reset Firefox to defaults, run Malwarebytes Antimalware, CCleaner, removed the hard disk and connected it to another system as a secondary drive and scanned for viruses. No change.
     
  2. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Retired Moderator and Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    Welcome :)

    Please download Farbar Recovery Scan Tool and save it to your desktop.

    Note: You need to run the version compatible with your system. If you are not sure which version applies to your system download both of them and try to run them. Only one of them will run on your system, that will be the right version.
    • Double-click to run it. When the tool opens click Yes to disclaimer.
    • Make sure that under Optional Scans, there is a checkmark on Addition.txt.
    • Press Scan button.
    • It will make a log (FRST.txt) in the same directory the tool is run. Please copy and paste it to your reply.
    • The tool will also produce another log (Addition.txt ). Please attach this to your reply.
     
  3. Alex Ethridge

    Alex Ethridge Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2000
    Messages:
    9,185
    I have done as instructed; but, I want to offer this additional information:

    I reset Firefox back to 'factory' defaults and it put my profile into a folder on the desktop named "Old Firefox Profile" and I restarted the computer. Since setting Firefox back to defaults and restarting the computer didn't solve the problem, I recopied the content of "Old Firefox Profile" back into the active profile folder. Since then (last night), there have been no more audio commercials. (But I don't yet trust the problem is solved and would not until at least a week without audio commercials.)

    I have attached the requested files.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Retired Moderator and Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    Seems that your FF profile is running from d: (Alex2) drive.

    Lets scan the computer

    [​IMG] Please download Junkware Removal Tool to your desktop.
    • Shut down your protection software now to avoid potential conflicts.
    • Run the tool by double-clicking it. If you are using Windows Vista, 7, or 8; instead of double-clicking, right-mouse click JRT.exe and select "Run as Administrator".
    • The tool will open and start scanning your system.
    • Please be patient as this can take a while to complete depending on your system's specifications.
    • On completion, a log (JRT.txt) is saved to your desktop and will automatically open.
    • Post the contents of JRT.txt into your next message.

    Download AdwCleaner from here. Save the file to the desktop.


    NOTE: If you are using IE 8 or above you may get a warning that stops the program from downloading. Just click on the warning and allow the download to complete.

    Close all open windows and browsers.
    • XP users: Double click the AdwCleaner icon to start the program.
    • Vista/7/8 users: Right click the AdwCleaner icon on the desktop, click Run as administrator and accept the UAC prompt to run AdwCleaner.
      You will see the following console:
    [​IMG]
    • Click the Scan button and wait for the scan to finish.
    • After the Scan has finished the window may or may not show what it found and above, in the progress bar, you will see: Pending. Please uncheck elements you don't want to remove.
    • Click the Clean button.
    • Everything checked will be deleted.
    • When the program has finished cleaning a report appears.Once done it will ask to reboot, allow this
    [​IMG]
    • On reboot a log will be produced please copy / paste that in your next reply. This report is also saved to C:\AdwCleaner\AdwCleaner[S0].txt

    [​IMG] Please download Malwarebytes Anti-Malware to your desktop
    • Double-click mbam-setup-version.exe and follow the prompts to install the program.
    • At the end, be sure a check-mark is placed next to the following:
      1. Enable free trial of Malwarebytes Anti-Malware Premium
      2. Launch Malwarebytes Anti-Malware
    • Then click Finish.
    • If an update is found, you will be prompted to download and install the latest version.
    • Once the program has loaded, select Scan now. Or select the Threat Scan from the Scan menu.
    • When the scan is complete , make sure that everything is set to "Quarantine", and click Apply Actions.
    • Reboot your computer if prompted.
    Extra Note:

    If MBAM encounters a file that is difficult to remove,you will be presented with 1 of 2 prompts,click OK to either and let MBAM proceed with the disinfection process. If asked to restart the computer, please do so immediatly.

    The log is available throughout History ->Application logs. Please post it contents in your next reply.
     
  5. Alex Ethridge

    Alex Ethridge Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2000
    Messages:
    9,185
    Additional Info:

    I have two drives on this computer that are used for long-term storage only, which as a process-of-elimination step, I physically disconnected for a while. The commercials came back this morning while those drives were disconnected so I reconnected those drives.

    Also, MalwareBytes Antimalware found nothing.

    The requested files are attached.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Retired Moderator and Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    Run Malwarebytes Antimalware and post its report. In addition, follow these steps:

    Please download the latest version of TDSSKiller from here and save it to your Desktop.
    • Doubleclick on TDSSKiller.exe to run the application, then click on Change parameters.
    [​IMG]
    • Then click on Change parameters in TDSSKiller.
    • Another window will appear.
    • Check all boxes, except Loaded Modules then click OK.
    • Click the Start Scan button.
    • The scan should take no longer than 2 minutes.
    • If a suspicious object is detected, the default action will be Skip, click on Continue.
    • If malicious objects are found, they will show in the Scan results - Select action for found objects and offer three options.
    Ensure Cure (default) is selected, then click Continue > Reboot now to finish the cleaning process.
    Note: If Cure is not available, please choose Skip instead, do not choose Delete unless instructed.
    • A report will be created in your root directory, (usually C:\ folder) in the form of "TDSSKiller.[Version]_[Date]_[Time]_log.txt". Please copy and paste the contents of that file here.
     
  7. Alex Ethridge

    Alex Ethridge Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2000
    Messages:
    9,185
    I ran Malwarebytes Antimalware as instructed; but, it found nothing and presented no log file. If there is another "report" that I should have posted, I need instruction as to what it is and how to find it. I did attempt to upload the two XML files it created; but, those aren't allowed here.
     
  8. Alex Ethridge

    Alex Ethridge Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2000
    Messages:
    9,185
    TDSKiller reports "No threats found". The log file is attached.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Alex Ethridge

    Alex Ethridge Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2000
    Messages:
    9,185
    Additional Information:

    It appears the "commercial" I was hearing and that I reported in post #5 appears to actually be from an ad on a CNN.COM web page. I had two tabs open and was viewing tab #2 when an audio "commercial" started playing in the middle of another news video I was viewing. I closed tab #1 and the unwanted audio immediately stopped.

    Could it be that what I am experiencing now are actually annoyances CNN built into their web pages?
     
  10. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Retired Moderator and Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    It could be. Are these commercials available when not connected to the Internet, or if connected, in other pages?
     
  11. Alex Ethridge

    Alex Ethridge Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2000
    Messages:
    9,185
    When first posting here, they were coming only on Firefox and closing the browser entirely always stopped them. They came whether I had CNN-related pages open or not and on inspecting present tabs I could not find anything on any of the pages that seemed to coincide with the audio "commercial".

    Since copying the profile back as stated in post #3, I really am not sure I still have a problem. I now think this is a bad choice of web page design on CNN's part.

    I think I need to simply do some process-of-elimination troubleshooting on my own to determine for sure. When the commercials come back, I will inspect every tab and then I'll know better what I'm dealing with.
     
  12. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Retired Moderator and Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    We need to remove the tools we've used during cleaning your machine

    1. Download Delfix from here
    2. Ensure Remove disinfection tools is ticked
      Also tick:
      • Create registry backup
      • Purge system restore
      [​IMG]
    3. Click Run
    Keep me posted.
     
  13. Alex Ethridge

    Alex Ethridge Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2000
    Messages:
    9,185
    Done. Thanks.
     
  14. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Retired Moderator and Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    I will mark this thread as solved.

    Best wishes! [​IMG]
     
  15. Alex Ethridge

    Alex Ethridge Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2000
    Messages:
    9,185
    Yesterday, I installed FlashBlock, available from Mozilla. For the past day, 24 hours more or less, I have purposely kept six to ten CNN web pages open continuously in as many tabs. So far, I have had no unrequested "commercials" playing.

    Hurray for FlashBlock!
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1147490

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice