Audio Manager: A jack has been plugged in.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Firah

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 22, 2003
Messages
765
Hello Everybody!
This problem started after someone plugged the speaker into the Line Out (black) port.
1) there is no sound, though drivers and all other audio settings are normal.
2) Reaktek HD Audio Manager pops up and the check-box window asks: Which device did you plug in? 'Line Out' is checked. On the task bar, the icon pops up a baloon saying: A jack has been plugged in. The Audio Manager window keeps refreshing itself every minute or two.
Gigabyte GA-M51GM-S2G Mainboard.
Windows XP Pro SP2.

Will someone please help.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 1969
Messages
6,922
Uninstall the audio driver and/or Audio Manager, restart the computer, and reinstall them.
 

Firah

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 22, 2003
Messages
765
I put in a new hard drive and installed XP & drivers. Problem pesists.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 1969
Messages
6,922
That only suggests a broken sound card... Is it integrated to the motherboard?
 

Firah

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 22, 2003
Messages
765
Oh yes, it is.... A new sound card will work, yes. But could it be broken just by plugging the speaker into the Line Out port?
 
Joined
Dec 31, 1969
Messages
6,922
I don't know. Someone actually seemed to waste his PS/2 ports by plugging the mouse in the KB slot and KB to mouse slot.. :eek: I plug the audio cords to wrong ports about once a week on several machines... Mine and others'. Never had any trouble. (except no sound, lol ^_^) Once even plugged my back speaker's jack in all the slots to see if I could get any sound out of them... Reminded, I could start a thread about that. I've never got any audio out of them. o_O
 
Joined
Dec 20, 2004
Messages
787
The on-board sound on the giga-byte boards with RealTek sound manager installed have universal audio jacks w/ what they call "Jack Sensing" . Meaning that the same jack can be used for input (microphone) or output (speakers).

When you plug a device into that jack it should give you the option to select the type of device you plugged in.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 1969
Messages
6,922
With my onboard audio and RealtTek sound manager, it just whines about a wrong device plugged to a wrong port, if I choose that I've plugged (for example my mic to speakers port).
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top